Blog · Book Review · books

Review: The Crown – Kiera Cass

IMG_4199.jpg

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 1.51.27 PMGeneral
The Crown by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection (#5)
Pages: 279 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance
Publisher: Harper Teen, May 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon// Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3/5 stars

Summary

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Book Review

*Please note, this review is for The Crown, which is the 5th book in The Selection series. If you have not read book 1-4, this may contain spoilers for you*

The Selection was one of my favorite series I read in 2015. I really enjoyed Book 1-3 in the series, book 4 (The Heir), not as much. However, I still had hope for this series and still continued and pre-ordered The Crown because I needed to know what would happen and how the series would wrap up.

If you read my review for The Heir, you know I was not a fan of Eadlyn, at all. I found that the tone The Crown started off with gave Eadlyn a very different vibe. She wasn’t as immature, more uncertain that immature. This was perfectly fine with me, since I felt like Eadlyn really needed a maturity boost. However, I felt like this left her with an unclear character. Her personality was a bit jumbled for me, and it just wasn’t very clear to me who Eadlyn was anymore.

The main thing that bothered me with this book the most was the plot. Or well, the lack there of. Honestly, it was really boring. Despite me wanting to finishing it, it took me quite a few days to read although it was only a pretty short book. I just really didn’t think this book was necessary. Maybe if The Heir and The Crown were one book, it would have made more sense.

Also, I never realized what little of an impression the other characters gave on me, until I started to read The Crown. This is because I had the hardest time trying to remember names (ie. who was who, who did I like, etc.).

Overall, I was just honestly disappointed with the way this series ended. This book was ok, I liked it better than The Heir; however, definitely not as much as the rest of The Crown series. I was hoping that The Crown would redeem the Eadlyn add on to this series; however, upon finishing The Crown, I still don’t feel like book 4/5 were necessary. Nevertheless, if you are a fan of this series, I think it would still be nice to pick this book up to see how The Selection wraps up.

 

5 thoughts on “Review: The Crown – Kiera Cass

  1. Didn’t read the review because I have yet to read the fourth book. All I wanted to say was that I love your featured image! Quite appealing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I 100% agree with everything you said in this review, especially the bit about the other characters not leaving any impressions at all. Throughout this book the one thing that kept bugging me while reading was Fox! All I could think was “Who in the world is Fox? Was he even in the last book?!” I feel like book 4 and 5 left a very negative final view of the whole Selection series in my mind after finishing, which is sad because of how fun the original trilogy actually is! Out of curiosity, what is your opinion on Erik? (aka the ending?)

    Like

  3. I’ve been debating about reading The Crown ever since The Heir because like you, I also didn’t really like Eadlyn! I think I will pick it up and read it just so I can finish the series, and see how it concludes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment