Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Fairest – Marissa Meyer

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 7.46.18 PM

22489107.jpgGeneral
Fairest 
by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles (#3.5)
Pages: 220 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Science-Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends, January 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon//Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


Book Review

The Lunar Chronicles is one of my beloved series. I have finished reading the whole series already, but I never read Fairest. Fairest is written as book 3.5, but technically can be read at any point since it is a pre-quel. I think it would be best read after Cress or after Winter though, since it might be weird to read it before Cinder since you don’t understand the plot/ any of the characters.

I’m not usually huge on novellas/short stories or prequels, so I’ve been hesitant to pick up this book. However one of my good friends who LOVES TLC highly recommended I read it ASAP so I decided to do so.

Levana is one of the few “villians” I’ve read that have stood out. I know I’ve heard this somewhere, but she’s one of those characters you “love to hate“. Although her story arc is mentioned slightly throughout the Lunar Chronicles, we are never given an in-depth background story until Fairest. Despite me disliking Levana, as a character, not due to her being poorly written or anything, but due to how evil she is, I found that this story was still very interesting to read.

I have to say though, this story does not make me feel bad for Levana, only tells me how she got to the point of her evil doings. I don’t think this story necessarily justifies her actions, but was a very interesting story nevertheless.

Maybe it’s because it’s been awhile since I’ve read anything TLC related, but it felt great to be drawn back into that world. This is one of my favorite series, and I feel like Fairest is definitely a great addition to this series. If you have read and loved this series, picking up Fairest is absolutely a great choice. I don’t think this series 100% needed this book, but for any lunartics, this is a great treat.

7 thoughts on “Review: Fairest – Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

