Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Open Road Summer – Emery Lord

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 7.26.11 PM.jpg

17978160General
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
Pages: 352 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan), May 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon//Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Synopsis

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence.

This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking.

A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

Book Review

I’ve read Emery Lord’s other works, I mentioned this before in my last Sunday Reads post, but I really enjoyed The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided wasn’t  my cup of tea. Therefore, I’m somewhat mutual on her works and so I didn’t have many expectations to begin with.
The beginning of the book really dragged out for me. I struggled to get through the first 100 pages, honestly considered DNF-ing it.
First off, this book is extremely un-relatable to me. I couldn’t relate to the main character or any of the side characters. Aside from not being able to relate to her, I just didn’t like her. I just felt like she was a little too indecisive and whiny. Reagan’s actions/ attitude was one of a 12 year old, but she was doing “adult” things (like smoking/drinking). So there was a little disconnect in that aspect of her character for me. Her best friend was sweet and cute, but honestly not very memorable. I did eventually grow out of my dislike for Reagan, but at best I would say I was just okay with her.
I did feel like the book redeemed itself (somewhat). I see any of the chemistry between Matt and Reagan, but I grew fond of them as the story went on. I don’t think they land in any of my top OTP lists, but I had positive feelings for them by the end. I felt like this was the only redeeming factor of this book.

The part that threw me off the most was Reagan’s narratives. They were kind of awkward, I don’t know how to place it into words. Her “thoughts” were sometimes unnecessary and forced. It was sometimes stuff you can understand “between the lines” and not necessarily need to make the character actually “think” it out loud.
Mainly, this book just didn’t make me feel anything. I think there were one or two parts where I felt a bit sad, but overall, the book didn’t move me. It was just okay.
Overall, I’m giving this book a 3/5 stars, which isn’t that bad, it’s okay actually. Just a little disappointed personally because I really wanted to like it, I’m definitely in the contemporary mood so that would have been perfect. Nevertheless, if the story interests you or you’re looking for a cute summer contemporary, this might be worth picking up if you like the plot or the author!
One thought on “Review: Open Road Summer – Emery Lord

  1. This looked like a cute summery read, but it don’t think I’ll be picking it up this summer. I’m a big character person, and it always hurts a book when I can’t connect with the MC. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

