Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Hopeless – Colleen Hoover

IMG_7844

17334411General
Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless (Book 1)
Pages: 408 pages
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Publisher: Atria Books, May 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon//Book Depository
Overall Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


Book Review

It’s no surprise that I’m a CoHo fan, however I never got around to reading the Hopeless series. I’ve read basically every other Colleen Hoover book so a part of me wanted to save this series for a day where I really needed some Hoover magic. I was in a huge reading slump throughout June so I had a hard time reading anything I picked up. However, I decided that CoHo would get me out of the slump, and I was definitely not disappointed.

Hopeless revolves around the character, Sky. She is mysterious but likable, like many of the other protagonists of Colleen Hoover’s novels. We follow Sky as she meets the mystery guy, Holder. (Who is extremely spazz worthy, but to contain my spoiler thoughts I will stop at that statement.)

I honestly couldn’t put this book down. I honestly had somewhat of lower expectations for this book, since it was CoHo’s earlier works. However, it definitely exceed my expectations. I finished it in around 2 sittings I think. I started to read it in the morning and could NOT put it down even though I had responsibilities to get to.

The plot-line, characters, writing, everything just left me WOWed.

I would have to say though, after reading quite a few new adult novels, this one does have quite a few clichés. However, Colleen Hoover plays in the cliches well enough that it’s not overused, so the book was definitely still enjoyable.

Themes of friendship, romance, coming-of-age are all present in this novel and all of these themes were well-played elements in the plot-line.

This book made me feel so many things I forgot that books could make me feel, in typical CoHo fashion. I was thrown from one side to another, battling with my feelings for this book. It sounds overly dramatic, I know. But this book did things to me that I don’t know how to explain.

Overall, I can only say that this is an AMAZING read. Definitely a well written book that I feel like anyone should give it a chance if you haven’t yet!

9 thoughts on “Review: Hopeless – Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

