Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Slammed – Colleen Hoover

IMG_5392.jpg15803858

General
Slammed by Colleen Hoover
Pages: 317 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, September 2012

Links: Goodreads // Amazon// Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review

I am a huge Colleen Hoover fan, if you didn’t already know this. I have read basically all of her books except for her two series. This is one of them. I actually started to listen to the audiobook of this one last summer, however, I am not a big fan of audiobooks. I think it’s because I’m such a fast reader, audiobooks are way too slow for me. Anyway, I never ended up finishing the audiobook.

I finally decided to take Slammed with me on vacation, because you can never go wrong with Colleen Hoover right?

Definitely not.

I finished Slammed on my flight and fully regretted not bringing book 2/3 of this series with me.

This book is considered young adult, so it definitely has a different vibe than all of CoHo’s new adult books that I have been used to. It didn’t feel like the signature Colleen Hoover writing style.

Nevertheless, I adored the characters. They were likable. Gotta say though, the main male character isn’t as swoonworthy as the usual CoHo baes. He was likable, but not on my list of favorite book boyfriends.

Aside from that, I felt like the plot was okay. It was a bit cliche, and kind of predictable.

However, it was definitely an enjoyable read. It is a fast read, and definitely one of those you can finish in one sitting! Although it is not as mind-blowing as more recent CoHo works, but still worth a read if you are looking for some summer contemporaries or you are a fan of CoHo.

6 thoughts on “Review: Slammed – Colleen Hoover

  1. Woahhhh, I just noticed you dropped the “.wordpress.com”! That’s awesome! BUT ANYWAYS, to be honest I feel like all CoHo books are cliches..? But it’s kind of what I like about them–I know what to expect (a sappy romance) so when I always read her books when I’m in sad mood, LOL. I actually have the second book to this series but not the first which is kind of strange. I look forward to reading this though!

    Jess @ POB!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! 🙂 I am a CoHo lover myself, and Slammed is her only book (or series) I have nort yet read, so it’s about time I pick this one up. It seems though that her work has been getting better with time, don’t you think? I loved November 9 with passion and I think her upcoming book, It ends with us, is going to blow our minds. And our eyes after all the ugly crying it seems to induce.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this review! This was my first Colleen Hoover book and is my only one, sadly! I really want to pick up more but I haven’t had the chance! Which ones do you recommend? I completely agree with this review! Really looking to reading more of her books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

