Blog · Blog Tour · Book Review · books

Review (Blog Tour): One True Loves – Taylor Jenkin Reids

This post is written in part of the One True Loves blog tour. Thanks to Atria Books for providing me with a digital copy of the book for reviewing purposes!!

27189194.jpgGeneral

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkin Reids
Pages: 352 pages
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: Atria Books (Simon & Schuster), June 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository

Overal Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis

From the author of Maybe in Another Life—named a PeopleMagazine pick and a “Best Book of the Summer” by Glamour andUSA Today—comes a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

Review

I have never read a book by TJR before so I definitely didn’t know what to expect. I know that a lot of people really liked this book though, including one of my favorite authors, Colleen Hoover. I went into this book with decently high expectations because of this.

I think the plot of this book was what really caught my attention. Although I’m not a huge fan of love triangles, there was just something about the plot of this book that really captivated me. If you’ve read the synopsis, you know that our main character, Emma, is stuck in a situation where she is trying to choose between two men she loves. One that she fell in love with before, one whom she loves now. I think this situation is not like the stereotypical “I love two people right now and can’t choose” type of love triangle. I guess that is why I enjoyed the plot point.

Additionally, I just felt like TJR created such realistic characters. This made the plot/story much more enjoyable as well, everything was so authentic. It just made me feel *certain emotions* while reading this book.

Aside from the characters and the plot, I felt like the writing was great as well! The pacing was okay, and the writing style was definitely easy to read, well-written.

I will have to say though, I think the ending was slightly predictable. This isn’t a huge deal, but I was able to kind of guess how it would end as I was reading.

Nevertheless, this was definitely an enjoyable read. I will definitely be picking up future works by TJR. I hope you add this book to  your TBR. If you’ve read it already, I would love to hear your thoughts as well!!

3 thoughts on “Review (Blog Tour): One True Loves – Taylor Jenkin Reids

  1. I need to read this! I preordered it and it’s just sitting on my shelf waiting patiently. I’m starting to become a big fan of TJR. Forever, Interrupted killed me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just finished this and from the beginning I already saw who she would end up with. Haha. I truly enjoyed the growth she went through after she thought he was dead, but I don’t approve of what happened in the cabin. I thought she should’ve drew some line…😅

    Like

Leave a Reply

