Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

IMG_434120613470

General
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass (Book #3)
Pages: 562 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens, September 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon// Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.

Book Review

*Please note, this is the 3rd book in the TOG series, if you have not read book 1 and 2, this may contain spoilers for you*

If you have followed me on my Instagram or blog for some time, you will know that I’m not a huge fantasy person. The main reason is that fantasy books are usually in series and I have a hard time bringing myself to committing to series. However, Throne of Glass is probably one of the online book community’s (booktube, bookstagram, etc.) most beloved fantasy series. I eventually gave in and started to read this series because all of my book friends highly recommended it to me.

I started to read Throne of Glass the summer of 2015, and I finished Crown of Midnight last September. For some reason, I didn’t continue with Heir of Fire right away. After around 8 months, I finally started to read HoF.

Due to the huge gap between CoM and HoF, I had a hard time remembering some details and some of the character names (who they were). However, I surprisingly still remembered the majority of the plot points.

I found that Heir of Fire felt slightly slower, in terms of pacing of the plot. This was ok, however, it made it difficult to read huge chunks in one sitting. I found myself reading a little bit every time I had the chance to pick it up.

I definitely loved the new characters introduced in HoF. I don’t want to talk about it too much because of spoilers. Alongside the new characters, our previous characters remain consistently likable to me. I know that a lot of people have problems with Celaena, however, she is definitely one of my favorite heroines and still is after this book.

This book was definitely good, but not as mind blowing as book 1-2 for me personally. I can’t grasp specifically why, but I remember liking CoM and ToG more. However, HoF is still a solid read.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. I will definitely be continuing this series and starting Queen of Shadows during this summer in anticipation of Empire of Storms.

5 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

  1. I am actually on the verge of purchasing this whole series. But I want to purchase the whole series as one so I’m patiently waiting for the Empire of Storms 😄 I haven’t read book 1 and I’m missing out on all the hype! Lovely review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

