Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Wanderlost – Jen Malone

IMG_4425

26244548

General
Wanderlost by Jen Malone
Pages: 352 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Harper Teen, May 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon// Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.

Book Review

*Thanks to Harper Collins for a review copy of this book!*

I’ve been looking for a cute contemporary to read lately to get me out of my semi-reading slump. It’s not so much that I can’t read but more of a too busy to read and with the limited time I do have to read it’s difficult for me to read “heavier” books (like Fantasy books because I find them to be a bit more time consuming).

Anyway, I decided to pick up my copy of Wanderlost. First off, the cover is so cute and the ombré pink sky is just so pretty. I also read the synopsis of the book and felt like it was a very cute so win-win.

The characters in this book were definitely interesting. Aubree, the main character, was slightly immature, but in a good way. I know that’s probably a weird way to describe a character, but I feel like she fit her age. Young adult novels sometime over-mature the characters and it was refreshing to feel like Aubree actually played her age well.

While reading the book, I really enjoyed the characters. However, I didn’t form a huge attachment to any of them, a few of the side characters were kind of forgettable actually.

The plot of this book was pretty good. I felt like the events flowed at a decent pace, it wasn’t too fast or too slow. However, I’ll warn you. This book has a lot of “cliches”. I don’t think any of the plot turned out to be extremely unexpected or anything however , that was fine with me. Personally, I felt like it fit in with the plots/characters so it didn’t bother me at all. It was really cute actually.

Jen Malone’s writing style was pretty good too. I don’t think anything about it really bothered me.

Wanderlost is one of those “feel good” type of books. It is a great pick me up. The mood of the book is so lighthearted and cute that it is such a light read. It definitely lifted my mood and put a smile on my face. It isn’t the top of any of my lists at the moment, but I definitely still recommend it. If you are looking for a cute, slightly cliche, contemporary YA summer read, definitely pick up a copy of Wanderlost.

One thought on “Review: Wanderlost – Jen Malone

Leave a Reply

