Blog · books · Features

Summer 2016 Reading Goals

IMG_4224

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my summer reading plans/goals post. I was inspired by the lovely Celine (celinereads.com). It will be quite the busy summer for me, considering all the vacations, working + classes I’m taking. However, I still have high expectations. You know what they say, “shoot for the stars”. These goals might sound a little crazy, but I was looking back on my wrap ups from last summer and I definitely think I can do it.

  1. Read 50 books. 

I know, 50 books? Are you crazy Jen? No I am not. I was calculating and apparently I read around 45 books last summer, so 50 should not be too much of a stretch. Plus, it’d be an extra bonus because it would definitely put me on track for my Goodreads challenge.

2. Read 3 classics.

I told myself last summer that I would read a few classics; however, I never got around to it. Last winter break, I bought myself 3 classics, but still never got around to it. I recently bought Pride & Prejudice + The Great Gatsby (although I did read this in high school). I am definitely determined that this will be the summer where I actually read the classics I bought, or at least 3 of them.

3. Read 5 non-fiction books.

If you have been following my blog or Instagram, you know that I read a lot of Young Adult fiction. Although I love YA books, I really want to adventure out. I actually bought a few non-fiction books based on the recommendation of one of my professors and I am really looking forward to reading it!

4. Clear out my “continue-later” shelf on Goodreads

I have this bad habit of starting books, then not continuing and dumping them into my continue-later shelf. My goal is to have finished all the books currently on my continue later shelf. PS, if you want to add me on Goodreads, you can click here.

5. Finish series that I’ve started

I have commitment problems. This is why I tend to read stand alones, and not series. This is because when you start a series, you are not committing yourself to one book, but to a whole series…. this may be 3-5 more books + endless novellas/short stories. Some series I need to finish/ continue reading (if it is not all released yet) is The Knife of Never Letting Go, Throne of Glass, Broken Hearts series, The Lunar Chronicles (I still haven’t finished the novellas or Fairest yet) etc.

That’s it for this post, hoping that this summer will be a summer of great reads!! What are your reading goals this summer?

10 thoughts on “Summer 2016 Reading Goals

  1. Those are some great goals! I never thought to make a continue later shelf, I like it better than DNF-ing books that I plan to actually finish.

    Like

  2. whoa those are some amazing goals! i mean, 50 books? i really hope you could read them all! i also really want to expand my reading preference this year, mainly by reading more contemporary and non-fiction maybe. and i also have problems with finishing series. i have tons of series that i haven’t finished, i think i also have commitment problems! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For your non-fiction book, have you already read American Sniper? I’m currently reading it for school and it’s better than I though! It’s really interesting😊 I hope that you will be able to do all your goals!😁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with all of your goals! 🙂 I hope to read around 50 books as well, because I found a way to get like 45 free YA ebooks and had to take it. 😂 Happy reading & enjoy your summer! ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I have basically the same summer reading goals as you, except I don’t plan on reading this many books. But for the reste we have the same goals !!! Good luck on achieving your reading goals

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great goals! I’m starting summer as well and am trying to work through my huge TBR list on goodreads 😵 good luck! If you need any nonfiction recommendations let me know because I really enjoy those!

    Like

Leave a Reply

