Blog · Book Review · books

Review: The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

IMG_4007

17838528.jpgGeneral

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Pages: 519 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Simon + Schuster, May 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Summary

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

Review

*Thanks to Simon Teen for providing me with a copy of TUE. All opinions are my own*

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson was definitely one of my most anticipated contemporary summer reads of 2016. Of course, Morgan Matson is one of the queens of contemporary YA books. I’ve also reviewed Second Chance Summer, Since You’ve Been Gone & Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour.

Anyways, the plot of this book was cute. In typical Morgan Matson fashion, the book was set in a perfect summer premise. Andie, our main character, has a huge summer planned ahead of her, and we follow her on her adventure.

The main thing that surprised me about this book was how long it was, 519 pages!!! It definitely didn’t feel too long though, I think it took me a little over two days to finish it.

I really liked the characters in this book; they all had a unique charm to them. It was a huge cast of characters, but I found that their friendships were so cute.It really made me reminisce of my high school days.

Also, Morgan Matson focused a lot on developing each individual character, given that it was a pretty long book. This was great because I feel like it’s always a little disappointing how under-developed “side” characters are in contemporary YA novels, but this was not the case.

However, I think my favorite part of this book was how there was a little bit of everything. Family, relationships, romance, coming-of-age aspects as well. It was a perfect little mix of everything we love about Morgan Matson.

I think the only problem I had with this book was that I felt slightly underwhelmed when I finished it.

Overall, it was a very good read. This is definitely a great read for any Morgan Matson fans, as well as anyone looking to get into the world of Morgan Matson books. This book is definitely on my summer 2016 recommended reads list and if you hadn’t picked it up yet, go pick it up!! What are you waiting for?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

  1. I’m definitely going to read TUE this summer. Morgan Matson’s books are always the perfect summery contemporaries and I’m glad you think this one is no different. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

