Blog · Book Review · books

Review: When We Collided – Emery Lord

wwc

25663637

General

When We Collided by Emery Lord
Pages: 352 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s, April 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3/5 stars

Summary

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

Review

When We Collided was definitely one of anticipated reads because I really enjoyed The Start of Me & You (also by Emery Lord). It is possible that my expectations were a little too high because I found myself not enjoy When We Collided as much. Although it was an okay read, there were a few problems with it that bothered me.

First off, to start with the positives, the plot of the story is your typical summer contemporary (which you know I love). I loved the setting of the story as well, (beach city!!).

The main characters Vivi and Jonah were quite interesting… Jonah was just absolutely adorable. He is such a sweetheart and I fell for him right away. He is just so likable. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a huge fan of Vivi. I know that she’s supposed to be different and unique, but I just honestly didn’t quite like her. Therefore, it made it really difficult for me to really like the relationships formed between the characters. I just didn’t quite feel the chemistry between the characters.

Aside from that, although the premise of the plot was intriguing at the beginning, it fell a little flat for me. I’m quite the quick reader but this book took me around over a week to finish.

Unfortunately, although I really wanted to like it, I just didn’t like it. It was an okay read for me personally, definitely not a bad read, but I wouldn’t highly recommend it. If you are a fan of the author or are interested in the plot, I would definitely suggest you pick it up and maybe you’ll enjoy it more than I did!!

4 thoughts on “Review: When We Collided – Emery Lord

  1. I agree with this review so much! I loved Open Road Summer and The Start of Me and You so I was really excited to read this but I didn’t enjoy it at all! Vivi just did not appeal to me so I think that is probably where the problem lies. It was an okay book but it definitely isn’t one I would re-read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

