Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Tell Me Three Things – Julie Buxbaum

IMG_1871

25893582.jpgGeneral

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
Pages: 336 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Delacorte Press, April 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Summary

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

Review

First off, isn’t the cover adorable? Yes it is. The waffles and hearts and handwriting… My friends, definition of a cute cover. Anyways, on to the review…

This book was one of my anticipated April releases. The pre-release buzz was too great to ignore! The Goodreads review pre-release was also pretty up there so this was one of those books I was watching out for.

The premise of the book is kind of cute; girl is approached by mystery boy name SN via email. He gives her tips on how to survive Wood Valley High School, she accepts.

The beginning of the book started out a little slow for me, but definitely, the pace picked up and it became more enjoyable. However, there were a few problems I had with the book that made it a bit of a disappointed.

It was very predictable, I saw the ending like 1/3 way through the book. Maybe because it was kind of cliche. It started frustrating me how oblivious the characters were because the truth was so obvious. Aside from that, I just felt like the way the events played out were a little too convenient. This made it not as engaging as it could have been.

The characters in this book were cute, although I didn’t feel a particular connection with any of the male characters. I thought Jessie was cute and quirky, not my favorite female YA character, but definitely likable. However, I didn’t feel like Jessie had a lot of chemistry with anyone in particular.

Another problem I had was with the whole friendship aspect of the story. I felt like Scar and Jessie’s friendship just was kind of weird… It didn’t make a lot of sense to me how the events played out, and kind of useless to moving the main plot to be honest.

However, aside from these problems I had, I did find that the character interactions were playful and cute. This is definitely a light read, I finished it in a few hours despite the problems I had with it. I just wish the plot was a little less predictable and that the characters showed a little bit more of some sort of development.

Nevertheless, this was definitely an okay read. If you are interested in the plot, I definitely recommend that you give it a try!

2 thoughts on “Review: Tell Me Three Things – Julie Buxbaum

Leave a Reply

