Blog · Features

Penguin Teen On Tour + Q&A with Alison Goodman

asdf

I had the pleasure of attending one of the stops of Penguin Teen on Tour a few weeks ago, this post is extremely delayed (I’m so sorry for being so forgetful).

Penguin Teen on Tour featured Alison Goodman (The Dark Days Club), Alwyn Hamilton(Rebel of the Sands), Rachel Hawkins (Rebel Belle series), Sabaa Tahir (An Ember in the Ashes series), & April Genevieve Tucholke (Wink Poppy Midnight).

All the authors were such sweethearts and it was such an amazing experience. I met two new bookish friends at this event, they were so nice! If you want to check them out, you can find them at @thebookvagrant + @daphodilli. New book friends are always nice to have.

The event started off with a Q&A with the authors. My friend Nani @booksthetics also asked me to ask Sabaa Tahir what Elias smells like if I had the chance. Her answer is “rain and spice”. It was such an embarrassing question to ask, but ended up being really funny.

IMG_1733.jpg

We got the chance to get our books signed and also got some swag. Overall, it was so much fun and I’m glad I attended.

IMG_1721

Also, thanks to Penguin, I got the chance to interview Alison Goodman. I haven’t read any of her books, but she was extremely nice!

Q: What is your favorite work that you’ve written?

A: My favorite work… it’s really hard to decide that because every one that I’m writing is my favorite at the time, so at the moment I’m just in love with Lady Helen’s world… I’m in love with that kind of world. I think because you’re in that world so much, you just need that patient to get you through the actual writing process because it’s so long.

Q: What inspired the Dark Days Club for you?

A: You know when I was 12, my mum gave me a book called These Old Shades. It’s not set in the regency but it’s about late 1700’s. It was one of those books, you know, that like… I got it in the morning and I just read it and read it. My mum basically called me for dinner and I said “aww, okay”, put the book down. Picked it up and read it under the sheets. And I just loved it, it was one of those kind of book that really changes you because it’s a historical and beautifully written. I read all of her books after that, she’s written about 40 books.

In my teenager years, I read the Jane Austen books, loved those. Then of course the BBC serial. I was kind of in the middle of all that mania. Kind of that whole period settled into me, I really loved it. When I wrote Eon, it was based in history, but not in a historical period because I didn’t believe that I had the skills to do the historical research. I went to a writing conference and there was a section about writing about the Regency. So I thought about what kind of Regency book I would like to write.

I was on the tram, because we have trams there. So I thought, I wanted to put a little Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Jane Austen and see what happens. I wanted it to be historically accurate. I wanted it to be a place where readers could really immerse themselves in. That’s kind of where it came from.

Q: What was the most difficult part of writing?

A: I think the most difficult part of writing The Dark Days Club is knowing what to leave out, research wise. I can collects lots and lots of research and little tantalizing details but you can’t put it all in. Another is making it a seamless transition between the story I’m telling and the historical events.

Q: If you could time travel to meet any author, who would it be?

A: I got a few I would like to meet. I would like to meet Jane Austen and see if she’s really sarcastic. I think she had a really good sense of humor. I’d also like to meet Shakespeare to see if he really did write at all, or did someone help him haha. I’d like to meet the 1960’s beat poets as well, just to bring it up into the cuff of the last century.

Q: Are you currently reading anything?

A: I’m currently reading newspapers from 1812. I’ve also been reading books from authors on this tour. I just finished An Ember in the Ashes, which I loved! I’ve also been reading a diary  of a regency lady, woman. It’s called the diary of Miss Fanny Chapman. It’s online and any one can read it. It’s been transcribed from her diary which is fascinating. It shows the daily life of a regency woman and how much boredom there was.

Q: Do you have any hobbies besides reading and writing?

A: I learned Regency dancing as part of my research. So I do Regency dancing and I teach it as well. Whenever I get a chance, I teach it. My dog is also part of my hobby as well. I love seeing movies as well, hanging out with friends, shopping online, haha!

Q: Do you have plans for future works?

A: Depending on how things go, if people like Lady Helen, it’s a trilogy at the moment, but there may be a 4th one! Or, before I came to Australia, I got the first line of a 3rd Eon book! That depends on whether or not, I mean they’ll all be done, but it just depends.

 

****

Thank you once again to Penguin for this amazing event and opportunity! I hope you guys enjoyed this post  🙂

 

 

One thought on “Penguin Teen On Tour + Q&A with Alison Goodman

  1. Hi there! I absolutely love your blog!!! I’ll definitely be binge reading all your reviews after my exams! XD we actually have the same theme on WordPress which I think is cool. I also love your bookstagam (your photos are beautiful) which was what brought me here and again, I just love the feel of your blog!!! The stationary and the books, ah!! Anyway, just wanted to express my instant love for your content. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

