Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell

final

26365537General

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell
Pages: 96 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Short Story
Publisher: Macmillan Kids UK, February 2016

Links: Goodreads
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels. Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On, and is part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day.

Review

*This is a mini-review since this is only a short story so I don’t have much to say about it*

When I heard Rainbow Rowell was writing a story for World Book Day, I FREAKED OUT. Who doesn’t love Rainbow Rowell? So, of course I ordered a copy from Book Depository since that’s the only place I know of that you can get a copy from.

Elena was a classic Rainbow Rowell character. Charming, cute, relatable, down to earth. Especially since Elena was Vietnamese, I feel like I had that extra connection with her.

Overall, the plot was kind of weird… random to be exact. Waiting in line for the Star Wars movie premiere? Not exactly something I expected Rainbow Rowell to write about. Aside from that, it was interesting… I liked the slow build of the romantic relationship. It was natural and cute. My biggest problem the LENGTH. 96 pages is not enough, it left me wanting more. Definitely need more.

However, this is a cute short story, a good pick-me-up if you’re short on time or if you are in a bit of a reading slump. Especially good for you Rainbow Rowell fans 😉

4 thoughts on “Review: Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’ve never actually had the pleasure of reading a Rainbow Rowell book! I want to remedy that soon. You’re right, this one does sound super random but it seems like it worked! Hmm, I’ll have to see if I can get myself a copy. It’d be nice to have a short little read c: great review!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rainbow Rowell is a good author. I loved Eleanor and Park and Fangirl. Attachments is good. Landline is okay, it has a small connection to Fangirl and that was by far my favorite part. Carry On felt like a first draft to me, not a finished edited novel. I’m not sure if I’ll keep reading Rowell based on Carry On. But maybe fantasy is just really not her genre. Lots of other people liked Carry On, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

