Blog · Book Review · books

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

IMG_1603

16096824.jpgGeneral

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
Pages: 416 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing, May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review

Guys. This book. THIS BOOK. 

So, this book has been sitting on my shelf for quite some time now… I don’t even know how long it’s been there to be honest. So, I finally picked it up as my hype-buster for Bibliophile Academy. As you can tell from my rating, it was a FANTASTIC READ.

First of all, I love retellings. If you know me, you know I loved The Lunar Chronicles. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

I am not a huge fantasy reader, let me put that out there. I used to read a lot of fantasy as a kid, but now that I’m older and more busy, I just find myself shying away from committing myself to fantasy books because they are usually series. Yes, I have commitment issues.

There is just also so much hype around ACOTAR, it just made me shy away from it as well. Hyped up books scare me, and so did this one.

However, after finishing it, I am so so so glad I read it.

This world that Sarah J Maas wrote about is just simply magical. I don’t know how else I can describe it. I loved the setting, the characters, the plot, everything basically.

What I loved the most was the way Sarah J Maas drew me into this world. Once I started to get really into it, I couldn’t put it down. I was dying to know what would happen next. This is a huge book, and I finished it in a little over a day.

My favorite part about her plots is that I can’t guess what will happen next. Up until the last pages of the book, I was still like… ??? What will happen???

Aside from that, I just love how complete the book made me feel after finishing it. It made me both curious about the next book in the series but satisfied with this one as well. That is the problem I have with series sometimes… when the author kind of leaves you hanging waiting for the next book. Sarah J Maas knows how to satisfy her readers.

Okay, can we just take a moment to spazz about the characters. Yes yes yes to all of them. I love them all so much, I don’t know how Maas does this.

I loved how this book had a little bit of everything: humor, romance, drama, magic, family etc. It’s just such a magical book, I don’t know how to fathom my feelings for it into words.

Just this… if you haven’t read it yet and are still hesitating, I hope you give it a try. I’m definitely glad I did. I CANNOT wait for the next book in the series, it comes out next month!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

  1. This book was absolutely fantastic! I agree with all of your points. I cannot wait for A Court of Mist and Fury, because I want to know Rhysand so much more, and Maas builds her characters beautifully, so hopefully, it will be even better than first!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be busting out my paperback copy now that I have read your amazing review. This gave me the push to finally start it. I, too, had reservations about such a hyped up book. I always feel like I’ll end up disappointed somehow. I loved Sarah’s Throne of Glass series so I’m excited about ACOTAR. I loved your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

