Blog · Book Review · books

Review: The Start of Me and You – Emery Lord

IMG_7512.jpg

25663744General

The Start of Me & You by Emery Lord
Pages: 385 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing, March 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Summary

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

Review

*Thanks to Bloomsbury for sending me a copy of this book for reviewing purposes!*

The Start of Me and You is one of those books that I felt a connection with the moment I picked it up. Not that I particularly identified with the characters or anything, but in a way where I felt like I was drawn into the plot and the story. The story starts with introducing Paige and the story of how her boyfriend died. This is not exactly the cheerful way most contemporaries start off with, but it drew me in. Paige was lost and confused, but she hated the way everyone else was viewing her.

Our town was too big for people to know everything about you, but just small enough to clench down on one defining moment like teeth on prey. Won the spelling bee in fourth grade? You are Dictionary Girl forever. Laughed a little too hard in sixth grade? You will still be the Guy Who Peed His Pants as you walk across the stage to receive your diploma.

And I was the Girl Whose Boyfriend Drowned.

I think Paige was easily one of the most likable YA female characters for me. Although she was not extremely mature in the beginning, she really found her own voice and grew dramatically as a character.

I don’t really want to spoil anything so I won’t talk about specifics about our main boy, but hint hint, he’s ADORABLE.

This was the first book I’ve read by Emery Lord, but I adored her writing style. It kept me engaged and I loved it. The phrasing wasn’t overly complicated either. The language and word choices were simple but detailed.

In books, sometimes the foreshadowing is so obvious that you know what’s going to happen. But knowing what happens isn’t the same as knowing how it happens. Getting there is the best part.

Reading this book just made me reminisce my high school days. Although the plot may seem a little depressing, with the whole death of a boyfriend aspect, it is a wonderful coming-of-age story. If I read this as a high schooler I think I would have even enjoyed it more. It was inspirational and gave hope, even in the time of tragedies. It’s a story about moving on, and I think that’s something we can all relate to. No matter where you are in life, when unpleasant things happen, we need to find that hope to be able to move on. This book gave me those feelings.

You’re always preparing yourself for the thing that is most likely to happen, instead of hoping for the thing that you most want to happen.

I think the only complaint I have is I felt like the ending was slightly rushed. The pacing of the last bit of the book just was a little quick compared to the rest of the book. I felt like the ending just wasn’t as fulfilling as it could have been.

Again, I repeat, I just loved how CUTE this book was. I definitely recommend you to check out the paperback, because there is a little exclusive “epilogue” type of thing in it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a cute contemporary. It’s perfect for you if you’re looking for some summer/ beach reads. 😉

2 thoughts on “Review: The Start of Me and You – Emery Lord

Leave a Reply

