Blog · Book Review · books

Review: Not If I See You First – Eric Lindstrom

IMG_1795.jpg22701879

General

Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom
Pages: 310 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Publisher: Poppy, December 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3/5 stars

Summary

The Rules:

Don’t deceive me. Ever. Especially using my blindness. Especially in public.

Don’t help me unless I ask. Otherwise you’re just getting in my way or bothering me.

Don’t be weird. Seriously, other than having my eyes closed all the time, I’m just like you only smarter.

Parker Grant doesn’t need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That’s why she created the Rules: Don’t treat her any differently just because she’s blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart.

When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there’s only one way to react—shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that’s right, her eyes don’t work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn’t cried since her dad’s death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened—both with Scott, and her dad—the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken.

Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Eric Lindstrom’s Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.

Book Review

The main factor that drew me to purchase this book was the fact that it featured a main character who was blind. This is another example of a theme not commonly seen in YA books.

However, although I think Parker (the main character) was a very unique character. I was a little hesitant about her in the beginning, wasn’t sure if I liked her or not. She was a little traumatized, immature and bratty even. Maybe I was partially thrown off because I was not expecting her to be like that at all.  I guess my underlying assumptions had made me a little surprised. I do feel like the character development made me end up liking her characters. However, I felt like there could still have been a bit of something else still missing from her character. None of the other characters particularly stood out to me. I felt like everyone was just an average YA character.

The plot was not fully developed in my opinion. I felt like there were a lot of themes that could be pushed a littler further. It was a great idea, but not executed as well as it could have been.

The writing style was also average to me, nothing to say in particular.

My main issue with this book is that when I finished it, I liked it, but now when I think about it again, there is not much to say about it. It wasn’t memorable unfortunately.

I really wished that I enjoyed this book more, because I definitely wanted to. Contemporaries are just my love!!

Aside from a few holes in the plot that I didn’t quite enjoy, this was an okay good book! It’s not everyday you have a main character that is blind, so it’s definitely worth picking up if you’re interested.

2 thoughts on “Review: Not If I See You First – Eric Lindstrom

  1. I read this one last month and enjoyed it. It was an interesting concept like you said, and fairly unique to YA. I agree Parker could sometimes be a bit of a brat, though. I felt like maybe that was part of how she dealt with her situation? I think even her friend made that comment about it at some point. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, I’m sorry to hear this wasn’t too memorable! I know what you mean though; some books are amazing while you read it, but then when you finish you realize it wasn’t as memorable as you thought. 😄 (Happens to me all the time.) I’ve been so interested in this book because we never have blind protagonists. I’m going to give this a go though.

    Good review though, and thanks for the criticisms – I’ll be sure to keep those in mind!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

