Blog · Book Review · books

Review: This Raging Light – Estelle Laure

25201619066_5e2f5bf5eb_o

General
This Raging Light by Estelle Laure
Pages: 288 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers, December 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Summary

Can the best thing happen at the worst time?

Her dad went crazy. Her mom left town. She has bills to pay and a little sister to look after. Now is not the time for level-headed seventeen-year-old Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Review

*Thank you to HMHCO for the advance copy of this book*

The premise of this book was interesting, as always, I usually enjoy themes of family played into YA books. However, I found that the way these themes were played into the plot was not as engaging as I hoped.

Overall, I found that this book was not very interesting. It’s one of those books you read that are okay, not that bad, but there is nothing really that special about if that makes it stands out. I read this a few weeks ago, if it weren’t for my notes, I’d honestly not remember anything.

I also found that the characters were very, very typical YA figures. I honestly wish that they stood out a bit more, because I couldn’t find anything about that that made them a bit more engaging.

I think my biggest concern was the ending. I won’t be spoiling anything about it, but I will be talking about my feelings on it in the next paragraph, if you’re uncomfortable with reading that please do not continue reading.

I felt like the ending was such a huge disappointed. It just didn’t wrap anything up, and was not satisfying to me at all as a reader. It’s just a huge pet peeve of mine when knots are left untied, especially if it has to do with such a major part of the plot itself.

Overall, I feel like this book was just not my cup of tea. I didn’t hate/dislike like it a lot, but unfortunately I didn’t like it either.

One thought on “Review: This Raging Light – Estelle Laure

Leave a Reply

