Blog · Book Review

Review: How It Ends – Catherine Lo

25109650512_ef7c20ae0d_o.png

General
How It Ends by Catherine Lo
Pages: 304 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers, June 2016

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis

There are two sides to every story.

It’s friends-at-first-sight for Jessie and Annie, proving the old adage that opposites attract. Shy, anxious Jessie would give anything to have Annie’s beauty and confidence. And Annie thinks Jessie has the perfect life, with her close-knit family and killer grades. They’re BFFs…until suddenly they’re not.

Told through alternating points of view, How It Ends is a wildly fast but deeply moving read about a friendship in crisis. Set against a tumultuous sophomore year of bullying, boys and backstabbing, the novel shows what can happen when friends choose assumptions and fear over each other.

Review

*Thank you to Houghton Mifflin for sending me an advanced copy of this book*

How It Ends is a story of friendship, a coming-of-age story, a very relatable story. This book made me reminiscent of my old best friends from high schools, the ones I have eventually lost touch with. It brought back a fragment of a memory from the past for me, and that was my favorite part.

The two main characters, Annie and Jessie, are extremely relatable. Their friendship was just so realistic.I loved their friendship so so much. I don’t know how else to describe it. You have Annie, the one who is pretty and has the potential to be part of the “cool” crowd. Then you have Jessie, the “outsider”, the girl who has the great grades. The way these two characters clicked was just perfect. They probably have made the list of my top 10 YA characters.

I found that this book also tackled a lot of problems/issues/themes you don’t see often in YA books. I don’t want to mention them here because it is a spoiler, but you’ll know what I’m talking about when you read it.

The writing style was great as well. The chapters switched back and forth between Annie and Jessie and I found that the two voices were quite distinct from each other. This is great because it made me feel like I was getting to know both of them just as well.

The plot was very well thought out as well. I enjoyed the flow of events in relation to the characters. I was looking for a non-romance contemporary (because I have been reading too many of those) so this was just a PERFECT FIT.

I just loved how charming this book was, it was a one day read for me. I highly recommend it!! If you are looking for a YA book that is focused on a friendship theme then this might just be the book for you. Of course, every book has a different reader, but this was just SUCH a great read for me, I hope you would give it a chance too!

3 thoughts on “Review: How It Ends – Catherine Lo

  1. Hi my name is Sarah and I’m starting a blog and I was wondering if you can help, cause I’m kinda confused with all the options and how to post things on a page and what not. It would mean a lot. Thanks.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

