Blog · Book Review

Review: The Night We Said Yes – Lauren Gibaldi

1

Untitled-4General
The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi
Pages: 294 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen, June 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

Review

The Night We Said Yes was one of those books I bought when I went on a crazy pre-ordering spree. The whole cover ombre sunset + title made me buy it. I didn’t even know it was about (I assumed it was people saying yes to stuff haha).

Anyway, this is a contemporary young adult novel revolving around a few friends who “say yes”. The story is told while flipping back and forth between now and then. This means that we are currently in the now and we are shown the past through chapters tucked between the “now”. Aside from that, I would say this is another one of the typical YA contemporaries coming-of-age, realistic fiction-ish type of stories. As I’ve been mentioning in my reviews, I have been on a HUGE contemporary kick so this is the genre I have been absolutely loving to read.

I found that all the characters were likable, although I wouldn’t say that any of the characters were particularly unique or different in any way (not that this is bad).
I liked the whole adventure-y type of plot that went along, as well as the dual now and then narrative the most.

I do have to say, this book was not exactly unique as it felt very reminiscent of other books I have read, such as “Hello, Goodbye and Everything In Between”.

Nevertheless, this book definitely help satiated my contemporary needs and I don’t have anything in particular I disliked about it either.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a contemporary fix or anyone who doesn’t read contemporary often (as I feel like it would quite an interesting read for anyone who isn’t familiar with this genre)

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Night We Said Yes – Lauren Gibaldi

  1. I’d really LOVE to read this book! Guess I have to wait until I get into a contemporary mood. But it looks amazing! 😀 I’m glad you liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s