Blog · Book Discussion · Book Review

Review + Discussion : Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

25134362351_116ca3fafa_o

7664334.jpgGeneral
Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
Pages: 352 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, May 2011

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Review (non-spoiler section)

This was such a refreshing read. As you may or may not know, I’m a HUGE Morgan Matson fan. I’ve read Second Chance Summer, Since You’ve Been Gone & her (first 2 books in the) Broken Hearts trilogy. I’ve been saving Amy & Roger because I simply really liked her other books and I didn’t want to NOT have any more of her books to read — unsure if this makes sense. Anyway, I’ve been in an extreme mood for contemporary lately so I decided that it’s finally time I picked this up.

I love love love love Amy. She is so sweet, a little bit of everything. She’s lost and confused, having her own flaws. (I liked the kind of “coming-of-age” theme we see in her story). I also REALLY liked Roger. He’s your typical has a little bit of everything you want kind of guy. The relationship formed between Roger and Amy was so so cute as well. Their chemistry is AMAZING. I do have more thoughts on their relationship but it is spoiler-y so I will be writing it in the discussion portion below.

The entire road trip was really interesting as well. Morgan Matson actually took a road trip so there are pictures of the places they went to, and little random things too (i.e. in-n-out receipts). I thought it made the reading experience much more appealing.

Of course, Morgan Matson is always so good at hitting themes aside from romantic relationships, like family. Family played a pretty big role in this novel, and I felt like it made it very engaging to read. Of course, as a contemporary addict, I love the gushiness of contemporary YA romances, but additional themes like family & friendship always give more depth to the plot line.

I just loved the plot so so much. It’s seriously the perfect road trip read. If you are looking for a light YA that is gushing with cuteness, this is the one for you. Especially if you’re looking for a summer-ish read. I do have some more thoughts on this book, but they are spoiler so I will be writing about it in the discussion portion of this post below. You might want to be aware of comments to avoid spoilers.

Discussion (spoiler section)

This is the discussion portion of Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour. This portion WILL contain spoilers of Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour. Be aware, you have been warned.

Okay, I don’t have too many spoiler thoughts. EXCEPT this…

The entire relationship of Amy and Roger was pretty slow in development, which was fine. I liked that they were slowly building a friendship before confessing their attraction for one another. Especially since Roger was still so hung up on what’s-her-face.

Anyway, I felt like there were loose ends. Like… when they were staying over at his ex-girlfriend’s house and she went out on a ride at night with the girl’s brother. When he leaned in to kiss her, Roger’s light went on. WAS HE WATCHING? WAS HE JEALOUS? I don’t think we ever cleared that up.

Also, their relationship escalated WAY TOO FAST at the last 50 pages. Maybe we should have stopped at kissing and cuddling that night. Just my opinion. This whole book is actually only over a span of a week, so I felt like it escalated a little too quickly… it felt kind of forced? Not sure if it was just me.

But that’s it for my thoughts! Let me know how YOU enjoyed this book below 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Review + Discussion : Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

  1. Lovely review!

    I read the book in 1-2 days a few years ago. There’s something about the writing that just makes you tear right through it if you know what I mean. I liked it, the road trip theme (I’m a traveller myself), their relationship. It’s a nice light summer read, but didn’t feel like more. 🙂

    Can’t remember if I thought the development was rushed at the end, but judging from what you wrote, I’d agree.

    Like

  2. I’ve read this book twice already, its such a fun read! Its light and entertaining and it was great on holiday 🙂 I loved all those little added ‘accessories’ to the book: the playlists, the pictures – they were such cute little touches that made the story all the more better.

    This was my first Morgan Matson novel and since then I have read Second Chance Summer (which shattered my heart a million times over). I am loving her so far and definitely looking forward to more!

    Really nice review 🙂

    Like

    1. I don’t think you should let that scare you into not reading it! I read Amy & Roger’s over summer and it was a nice read but I still liked Since You’ve Been Gone better. But definitely pick it up when you have the chance because it was a decent book overall 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely and totally agree with your comment about the last 50 pages and their relationship escalating way too quickly! It felt like it cheapened their relationship in a book that would have been much cuter if it hadn’t been so forced on the physical relationship at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

