Blog · Book Review · books

Book Review: Winter – Marissa Meyer

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 9.49.57 AM.png

General
Winter by Marissa Meyer
Series
: The Lunar Chronicles (Book #4)
Pages: 827 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends, November 2015

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

*This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles. If you have not read the previous 3 books in this series, please avoid this review as it may contain spoilers.*

Synopsis

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

 

Favorites

1. Writing Style

I’ve grown to LOVE Marissa Meyer’s writing style throughout the Lunar Chronicles. I especially loved it in this book. Although there were many POVs going on at the same time, we know the characters well enough at this point so that it was not confusing. I found that this multiple perspective story telling really enriched the storyline and added great richness to the plot.

2. Characters

How is it possible that I love every character in this book? Of course, I hate Levana. But, I hate love her… Besides that, I love the distinct personalities of every character we meet throughout the journey. Although there are many characters in this series, they remain unique and special in every way.
3. Plot
This book was GIGANTIC. 800+ whopping pages. However, it didn’t feel like it was THAT long. This was due to the amazing plot and ongoing action. I never felt bored during these 800 pages, seriously.

 

Not-so-faves

Not much, except that this is the last book… I am still not ready to accept this fact yet… I need more.

Ratings

Plot: 4.5/5

Writing style: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Overall: 4.5/5

 

Final Thoughts

Overall, I feel like this was a very solid conclusion for the Lunar Chronicles. It was a great series, and I’m so sad to see it end. Personally, I haven’t read Fairest yet, so I will have to read that soon. But, I really did enjoy this book. I read as slowly as I could because I honestly didn’t want it to end. It makes me so sad to know that there won’t be anymore Kai, Cinder, Cress, Iko, Thorne etc. I really do hope Meyer comes up with some novellas/short story, I feel like this series definitely needs that. I highly recommend this book, it is definitely a great read, especially if you are a fan of the Lunar Chronicles.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Winter – Marissa Meyer

  1. Stars Above, a collection of novellas (including five that haven’t been released yet!) will be published in February!! 😀 Though I wish there were a lot more books coming out haha. I’m definitely going to miss this series! I love the Tsum Tsums and the tray in the picture ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

