Blog · Book Review

Review: Legacy of Kings – Eleanor Herman

SAM_9077

General
Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
Pages: 384 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Harlequin Teen, August 2015

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 1.5/5

*This book was provided to me by the publishers in exchange for an honest review.*

Synopsis
Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to a newcomer…

Katerina must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But she doesn’t account for her first love…

Jacob will go to unthinkable lengths to win Katerina, even if it means having to compete for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince.

And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet betrothed, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the shocking details of real history, New York Timesbestselling author of Sex with Kings Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known, Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series

Favorites
The plot had a lot of potential. There was so much room for world-building and character development.

Not-so-faves
I COULDN’T finish it. I never DNF reviews, but I couldn’t for this one. The moment I would feel engaged with the book, something would come up, either the multiple POVs came in to confuse me, the characters started going on long strings of thoughts, or something else would come up and make me go ???? The characters were far too disorganized for me as well. There was no character development, it was just “there’s this character and he does that because of that” but no real action/ to SHOW the readers the characters’ development.
However, what bothered me the most was the writing style. There was so many POVs going on at the same time, so many characters being introduced, it was far too confusing to understand. I made it around halfway into the book / 200 pages before I honestly just couldn’t bring myself to continue. I honestly gave it my best shot.

Rating
Plot: 2/5
Characters: 1/5
Writing Style: 1/5

Overall: 1.5/5

Final Thoughts

I could not bring myself to finish this book. The plot was not bad, it had a lot of potential. I could see how the plot would have developed into a great series. Personally, I do not know a lot about this historical time period, so any historical discrepancy did not bother me.

The lack of structure for the characters… the 5-6 POVs used… plus confusing writing style (long, stringy, one scene blends into the next), I just couldn’t bare myself to finish it. I got around 200 pages (out of 400) in before I decided that this was as far as I could go. I honestly never write DNF reviews, but I couldn’t not DNF this one. Maybe one day in the future I will try again… I don’t recommend this book, unless you are a fan of high fantasy/ of this time period, I’m unsure if you would enjoy it unfortunately.

2 thoughts on “Review: Legacy of Kings – Eleanor Herman

  1. Oh, thank goodness! I thought I was the only one who couldn’t get through this one. For me (along with your points – the POVs changing all the time drove me nuts, and it was so disorganized), it was the constant overuse of adverbs “he drank greedily” and “she thought wildly” and “he ran quickly” etc etc etc… Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

