Blog · Book Review

Review: Happily Ever After – Kiera Cass

SAM_9015

General
Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass
Pages: 416 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Short Stories, Romance
Publisher: Harper Teen, October 2015

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 4/5

*This is a companion to The Selection series, therefore, it may contain spoilers if you have not read the series/complete reading it.*

Synopsis

Meet Prince Maxon before he fell in love with America, and a girl named Amberly before she became queen. See the Selection through the eyes of a guard who watched his first love drift away and a girl who fell for a boy who wasn’t the prince. This gorgeous collection features four novellas from the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series—two of which appear here in print for the first time—as well as exclusive, never-before-seen bonus content.

This series companion is a must-have for any Selection fan, and includes:

  • The Prince
  • The Guard
  • The Queen (in print for the first time)
  • The Favorite (in print for the first time)
  • Exclusive new scenes from The Selection, The Elite, and The One
  • Introductions to each novella from Kiera Cass
  • A map of Illéa and other illustrations
  • And more!

I’m doing a bit of a different format for this review because this was a book of short stories, so it wouldn’t make sense to do it this way opposed to doing it in my usual format.

The Prince
This was a good novella that showed us a little more on the story through Maxon’s perspective. This was pretty insightful and one of the ones I really enjoyed in this book.

The Queen
This was my favorite novella in this book. I always found the King/Queen to be mysterious and I always wanted to know more about them, especially with the way Maxon talks about his mom.

The Guard
I liked this one, but it honestly didn’t change the way I feel about Aspen. Team Maxon forever!!

The Favorite
I honestly didn’t like this one very much. The story was just not captivating to me, and I feel like the characters were a little dull.

Scenes from CELESTE
Although it was interesting to read from Celeste’s point of view, I didn’t feel like it added much to the plot. I didn’t really find out more about Celeste — or anything that made me really all that excited to learn about her.

Final Thoughts
I really didn’t have that big of an expectation for this book, because it was just a bunch of short stories. However, I just felt like it was difficult to like some of them because the plot wasn’t very… captivating. Although I did enjoy the majority, I found myself not being drawn to the short stories as I had been while I was reading the series. It is a decent companion to the novel however, I think that fans of the Selection series will definitely enjoy this book!

One thought on “Review: Happily Ever After – Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

