Blog · Book Review

Review: Between Us and the Moon – Rebecca Maizel

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 9.26.08 PM

General
Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel
Pages: 384 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Harper Teen, June 2015

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

*Please note, although this book is considered “young adult” there are themes and mentions of certain issues that may be inappropriate for younger audiences. Reader discretion is advised.* 

Synopsis

A luminous young adult novel that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.

Favorites
I really liked the main male character, Andrew. He was really sweet, down to earth, and … in a very good way, normal. When I say normal, I mean it as that Andrew is a character that I find realistic. Sometimes YA novels bring into play these “perfect” guys who are impossible to find in real life. The main character, Sarah, was interesting. I thought she was cute. She reminded me a whole lot of Belly from The Summer I Turned Pretty series by Jenny Han. The plot had a ton of potential, but I thought the way it was executed made it just okay. The writing style is simple and easy to follow. I enjoyed the fact that the narrator’s voice was very clear, and I could definitely see Sarah’s personality shine through the narration.

Not-so-faves
Ok, I always try my best to avoid talking about endings in my reviews, but I have to for this one. I won’t spoil anything, but I will talk about my feelings about this. However, if you feel like this may bias you in any way, please skip ahead.

I was enjoying the book, it wasn’t MINDBLOWING, but I did enjoy it… until the last like 10 pages. It was just such a disappointment, honestly.

Rating
Plot: 3/5
Writing style: 4/5
Characters: 4/5

Overall: 3.5/5

Final Thoughts
I was really hoping I would like this novel alot… I mean, look at that beautiful cover, don’t you just want to love it? Unfortunately, although I did enjoy majority of the book, there were just factors that I couldn’t forgive which left me very disappointed. There was so much potential, however, the plot just really fell short for me. The characters were likable. The main female character was a little immature, but understandable considering her age. In the end, this book was just ok. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a “coming of age” romance-contemporary young adult novel. However, for the most part, I would say, only pick it up if you’re really intrigued by the synopsis.

2 thoughts on “Review: Between Us and the Moon – Rebecca Maizel

  1. I hate when an ending ruins a book. Well, i suppose in your case you weren’t loving it anyways, but it is still such a letdown. I just finished a book (The Truth About Us) and I had a similar problem with the ending. It also makes it so hard to talk about in a review, because of course, you don’t want to spoil anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you’re saying! It’s so difficult to fully express my feelings and trying not to spoil anyone — which I would hate to do, because maybe others might like the book more than I do and I hope everyone will give the book a chance if they were interested.

      Like

Leave a Reply

