Blog · Book Review

Review: Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

SAM_7247

General
Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Pages: 449 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Mystery
Publisher: Simon and Schuster, May 2014

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 4/5

Synopsis

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Favorites
I really like the main character of this book. Out of all the books I’ve read by Matson, she’s probably my favorite character. Mainly because of how relatable she was. While we are on the topic of characters, I also really liked the other characters in the book. However, I wasn’t in LOVE with any of them in particular. Frank and Collins were pretty solid characters… but I felt like Dawn’s character fell a little flat for me personally.
Overall, I enjoyed the plot. It’s a wonderful coming-of-age story with strong themes of friendship and finding yourself. I felt like Matson’s story telling voice in this book was superb as well.
I love how light it was as well! Although it was longer in length, it definitely felt light and is a perfect summer read.

Not-so-faves
I found myself skimming through some of the flashbacks of Sloane and Emily because I felt like it was a little dull and didn’t add much to the context of the story. Also, I felt like there were too many loose ends at the end of the book, there were many problems I wish the story solved.

Rating
Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing Style: 4.5/5

Overall: 4/5

Final Thoughts
This book was definitely an interesting read. A very good summer book I would say, however, I wasn’t in love with it. It was great, I really enjoyed it, I liked it, but not head over heels in love with it. My main issue was that I felt like the ending was a bit anti-climatic for me with a few too many loose ends. However, I do enjoy that the book was not too focus on the romance, instead it prioritized family and friendship. My favorite “relationship” in the book, however, was the one between Emily and her brother. Just heart warming to see their interactions throughout the book, silly as it may sound. This is definitely a solid read, not my favorite, but I feel like many of you might be able to enjoy it! If you are looking for a light read as the summer season comes to an end, this may just be the book for you!

Jeanette
Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Review: Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

  1. I picked this up from a local Little Free Library and leant it to a co-worker before reading it. I think she is having some of the same issues you state about the flashbacks. I may still have to check it out before summer is official over. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

