Blog · Book Review

Review: Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

SAM_7978

General
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Pages: 320 Pages
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Penguin Books, July 2013

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 5/5

Synopsis

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Favorites
The plot of this story. Boy oh boy, the plot of this story was extraordinary. It was well thought out, it was interesting, it had every element I want in a plot. The story just was so touching. The thing about this book is that the plot might sound like any regular story, but seriously, the story Moyes told was much more than anything I could ever expected. I don’t want to talk too much about the plot because I don’t want to spoil you, but what I can say is this… It’s touching, it’s well thought out, it leaves an impact.
The characters that Moyes crafted for this book are also very well thought out. I found that the characters had a lot of depth, they were not shallow at all. Throughout the book, I felt like the characters had great development as well, becoming more and more complex (in a good way). I felt like Louisa and Will were real people I knew, that’s how great Moyes’ character development was.

Not-so-faves
At certain points, I felt the writing to be a tad stringy, mainly because I was so anxious to see what happened next.

Rating
Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing Style: 4.5/5

Overall: 5/5

Final Thoughts
This book guys, this book. I’ve heard many great things about this book but I didn’t realize it was this amazing. I read this book like 4 days ago and I’m still thinking about it. I am the type of person to go from one book to another very quickly, (that’s why I usually end up reading 15-20 books a month). But, ever since I finished Me Before You, I haven’t been able to pick up anything else. Definitely having a book hangover right now.

The thing is, when I finished it, I knew that it was really good and I liked it, but I was thinking about rating it a 4~5. However, the more I think about it, the more I realized that I’m still thinking about it. The ghosts (not literally) of the story and Louisa and Will and all that happened, are still following me around. This book touched me in such a beautiful way I don’t know how to describe it. This book definitely gave me “all the feels”.

I can say no more, except that I hope you pick this book up and read it. And when you do, I would love to have a conversation with you about it. Tweet me / DM me on twitter or something. I would be more than happy to talk about this book to you.

This is the type of book you go running to your friends and talk about for days on end… I know I’m doing it.

P.s. You’ll definitely need a tissue box. I made the mistake of reading this at the gym and looked like a crazy girl trying to sniffle and hide my tears. Totally worth it though.

Jeanette
Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

  1. Nice copy and review! I got the same feelings on this book! I was literally transported out of reality [I couldn’t be my normal self!] after reading Clark and Will’s story! I couldn’t pick up another book in days. I’m excited for AFTER YOU coming out this September! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

