Blog · Book Review

Review: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak – Brian Katcher

SAM_7780

General
The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
Pages: 336 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Katherine Teagan Books (Harper Collins), June 2015

Untitled-1

Buy it here:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Overall Rating: 4/5

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention.

When Ana Watson’s brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.

In her desperation, she’s forced to enlist the last person she’d ever want to spend time with—slacker Zak Duquette—to help find her brother before morning comes.

But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. . . .

Favorites
I think this novel perfectly captures the epitome of innocence. Zak and Ana’s little adventure perfectly captures the characteristics of the youth.  They had their own clear personalities that might even be considered opposite of each other. However, somehow this worked so well together. They were always arguing, yet it was very cute. I honestly understood why Ana acted the way she did — a little uptight and joykiller at times, (me coming from a family with strict rules and expectations) and Zak was just a typical geek boy.The whole premise of the book was really interesting to me, because it’s very present in our pop culture today. I see conventions nowadays for almost everything, yet I don’t see it portrayed very much in the book world.
For the writing style, I felt like it was simplistic and easy to read.

Not-so-faves
Although the characters are in their later year of high school, they are very innocent, almost too innocent for their age. With the quickly revolving age we are in, there are few kids in high school who remain with such simplicity. I feel like the age that was captured in this novel was not a realistic depiction of real life.

Rating
Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing Style: 4/5

Rating: 4/5

Final Thoughts
I enjoyed this book much more than I expected I would. After seeing a few very average reviews about this book, I was a little worried I wouldn’t enjoy it. But the plot of the book was so enticing to me, I still wanted to give it a go. This book is definitely not a MIND-BLOWING OMG type of read. However, it does what it’s meant to do, and is enjoyable. I feel like this book is not meant to be taken for more than it is. There is not a huge overall worldly theme to it, so don’t expect that. Nevertheless, it’s an adorable, geeky contemporary read with two out-of-the-norm main characters. If you love geeky things or are looking for a simple and sweet contemporary novel, this is for you!

Hope you enjoyed this review, I’d love to hear your thoughts if you’ve read this book!

Jeanette
Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak – Brian Katcher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s