Blog · Book Review

Review: Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

SAM_6411

General
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Pages: 452 Pages (Hardcover)
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-fi
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan), February 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Note: If you haven’t read Cinder, this review will contain major spoilers for you as this is the 2nd book in the series!

Plot Summary
In the 2nd installment of The Lunar Chronicles, Cinder is on the run. From breaking out of prison to meeting new friends, Cinder’s mission to beat Queen Levana continues.

Favorites
I really enjoyed the new characters in this book. I found that the introduction of these characters were very smooth and natural. Although some of the focus has gone to the newer characters, we still have great dynamics on the characters we met in the first book. I found this book a little more thrilling due to the amount of action as well, which was fairly enjoyable.

Not-so-faves
I found that the amount of action was raised in this book, however, character development lessoned. I feel like the characters didn’t develop very much, causing them to be a little bit static. Specifically, I’m talking about the characters we first met in the first book.

Rating
Plot: 4/5
Characters: 3.5/5
Writing style: 4/5

Overall: 4/5

Final Thoughts
I found that the second installment of this series was pretty good. I did enjoy it, however I found that it wasn’t better than the first book. I liked the two around the same because of different reasons. However, I still do enjoy this series and I still definitely am continuing it. Unfortunately, Scarlet didn’t leave me with a lot to say so this is on the shorter side for a review!

I hope you enjoyed my review nevertheless, let me know what your thoughts on Scarlet are if you’ve read it!

4 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

  1. I still have to read Scarlet and Cress in anticipation of Winter. Sorry to hear it didn’t improve on the first book. While I liked Cinder I found it a bit unengaging. I hope you’ll enjoy Cress more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore the Lunar Chronicles books – I think I’d agree with you that Scarlet isn’t as good as Cinder, but I still liked it. Your editions are so pretty as well! I only have the paperbacks, sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

