Blog · Hauls

Haul: Used Bookstore FInds

SAM_7669

Some of you may have seen this if you follow me on my Instagram, but I dropped by a used bookstore nearby where I live earlier today to get myself some celebratory gifts for surviving summer school. Every excuse is a good excuse to buy books honestly.

Anyways, I got a total for 5 books for roughly $27! Although they are used books, most of them are in great shape and I’m very excited to read them.

SAM_7672

The first book I got is a paperback copy of Looking For Alaska by John Green. I read this book maybe 5-7 years ago, it’s been so long I can’t even remember when but I borrowed a copy from the library so I never owned it. This copy was only $4.99 and it was in great condition so I decided to pick it up.

SAM_7670

The next book I picked up is Hard-boiled Wonderland and the Rest of the World by Haruki Murakami. Although the store I go to is a used bookstore, they also sell new copies of books. However, the new copies are basically sold at cover price so I usually don’t buy those just because I can get it for a much cheaper price elsewhere. I always stop by the Murakami section of the store, although I never find used copies of his books because they were are so rare! It’s always the brand new paperback copies that run around $14-16 a piece. Anyways, I stumbled across this UK edition book for $8 in pretty good condition. I read the synopsis and it seemed interesting enough I decided to pick it up.

SAM_7671

I’ve always told myself, I’m going to get into reading classics. I’ve always wanted to. I remember in high school I hated assigned reading, but I think I only hated it because it was assigned reading. So, as I was browsing the book store today, I kept seeing the penguin classic spines staring at me. And I decided… today will be the day I pick up some classics. I ended up getting Emma by Jane Austen ($4.50), Little Women by Louisa May Alcott ($3.99) & Great Expectations by Charles Dickens ($3.99). My goal is to read all 3 of these before summer ends… or well at least 1. If you have a suggestion on which one I should pick up first, then let me know in the comments!

Well, that’s it for my haul. I’m thinking about doing more of these smaller haul than waiting til the end of the month every month to post hauls, because quite frankly, I get too lazy to take pictures of everything so I end up not doing it. Let me know how you think!

Also, my question for today is, do you go to used bookstores? What is your game plan when searching through these book stores? I always find myself losing track of time because of all the wonderful books on the plentiful shelves..

That’s it for today, I hope you enjoyed my haul and I’ll be back with another post again soon!

Thanks for reading!

love, Jeanette.

10 thoughts on “Haul: Used Bookstore FInds

  1. Wonderful haul! I’m a huge fan of used bookstores, they do great things for your wallet. Less money spent on books? Books for bargain prices? I say YES TO THAT!
    I hope you read those classics! I need to get myself into reading those too! I hope you enjoy Looking for Alaska! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right?! I just wish I had bigger used bookstores where I live, I’d be there all the time! and yes, I’m trying to get into classics so I decided to start now. Not sure if I will reread LKA any time soon but thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The only one of those classics I struggled with was Great Expectations! I don’t know why! But absolutely love second hand books. I find lots of charity shops like Hospice etc have a good book selection that’s tucked away at the back of the shop and often you get such good finds! I hardly ever buy books new!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

