Blog · Book Review

Review: Cinder – Marissa Meyer

SAM_5928

General
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles (Book 1)
Pages: 390 Pages (Hardback)
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Dystopian
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan), Jan 2012

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
In this novel, a mechanic named Cinder lives in New Beijing. As a plague threatens the population, Cinder is found to be in the middle of problems she doesn’t know how to solve. Alongside, she has to face her mysterious past that she has no memory of.

Favorites
I love fairy tale retellings/ books inspired by fairy tales. This made me much more enthusiastic about starting this series. I enjoy Meyer’s writing style as well. It’s smooth and simple, really easy to read. As for the plot, I thought it was really interesting. I like how it took bits and pieces from the fairy tale we are very familiar with. This made it more interesting because it showed Meyer’s creativity and ability to twist the story into a tale of her own. I definitely commend Meyer’s creativity in this book. The world the story is placed in was a little difficult to understand in the beginning because of its intricacy and terminology. However, was very interesting once I got a better understanding of it. Overall, the characters are solid as well.

Not-so-faves
Although the characters in Cinder are solid, I found that only a select few main characters showed development. Some of the characters showed very little or no development/growth at all. I found that the world/setting of the book could have used a little bit more development as well. Some aspects of the setting remains fuzzy to me.

Rating
Plot: 4.5/5
Writing Style: 4/5
Characters: 4/5

Overall: 4/5

Final Thoughts
This was a really interesting read to me. It took me around 2 days to finish, which is average pace for me. I really did enjoy it enough to want to continue reading it. I found that the plot and characters are solid, but the book didn’t WOW me. I found that character and setting development was a little lacking personally. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book, but I didn’t find the wow factor hence the 4/5 rating. However, Cinder is a really likable main character and I enjoyed reading this first book of the Lunar Chronicles. I do like the idea of the world that this book is placed in and am very interested in the continuation of this story.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an interesting fairy tale inspired fantasy series and maybe with a twist of sci-fi!

Thanks for joining me today and I hope you enjoyed my review!

Love, Jeanette

5 thoughts on “Review: Cinder – Marissa Meyer

  1. I have to admit, this books does seem really interesting and I know many people enjoyed reading the book. Would you say that the book focuses more on Cinder’s life rather than the attraction between her and the Prince? Because I find that some books include too much romance for my liking…

    Like

Leave a Reply

