Blog · Book Review

Review: Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen

SAM_6892

General
Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
Pages: 432 Pages (Hardcover)
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Viking Books For Young Readers (Penguin Random House), May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary

When Sydney’s brother makes a terrible mistake, her family’s attention are devoted entirely to her brother. Sydney is now at a new school, away from people who knows what happened to her brother and the rumors. She finds herself in new situations, and new people. However, it is still frustrating for Sydney to find balance between her family problems and her personal issues.

Favorites
I feel like Sarah Dessen perfectly captivates the mindset of a teenager. In one case, the main character is having an argument with her mom. Somehow, Dessen manages to describe how I felt as a teenager when I was arguing my mom. She shows the frustration and tensions parent-child relationships very very well. I would know because I felt like I was zapped back into time and was Sydney’s age once again.
Also, the topics that Dessen touched on in this book was really interesting. Some of these are kind of sensitive topics that YA novels fail to bring forth. It was definitely refreshing. I liked how the romance isn’t the central topic of the book. Many themes of friendship and family play a big role in this book as well. However, I did find the plot summary on the back of the book a bit misleading with the emphasis on the romance in this book.
Lastly, I felt like the characters were decent and mainly likable.
Not-so-faves
As I mentioned, Dessen is able to captivate the essence of teenagers. However, I found this to be a little frustrating because it felt like Sydney’s thought process was just a little too immature. Nevertheless, I understand where this immaturity streams from and the reasoning for it.

Also, I felt like Sydney’s thoughts kind of winded on and on forever. She thinks a lot to herself, which causes the narration to be longer than I would have liked definitely.

Rating
Writing Style: 4/5
Plot: 4/5

Characters: 3.5/5

Overall: 4/5
Final Thoughts
Be aware, this book will make you crave pizza. I craved it so much I caved in and bought some pizza. Probably not a good book for you if you are avoiding pizza! Just kidding. Anyways, overall, I found myself enjoying this book. It did take me a bit longer to finish however. Some of the narration came off as a bit dull and long winded to me. But, I felt like it was a decent book and would recommend it to anyone looking for a YA contemporary book which touches on some pretty unique topics.
love, Jeanette
9 thoughts on “Review: Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen

  1. Fantastic review! I honestly haven’t read any of Sarah Dessen’s books, I don’t think I’m the only one but it’s about time I picked up one of her books. Any recommendations other than Saint Anything? [:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I honestly don’t remember the other books i’ve read by Sarah Dessen because it has been so long, and I only read one or two before Saint Anything, I think the one I read was “The Truth About Forever” which I believed was pretty good as well, hope that helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

