Blog · Book Review

Review: This Is What Happy Looks Like – Jennifer E. Smith

SAM_7128

General
This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith
Pages: 404 Pages (Paperback)
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Poppy (Hachette Book Group), December 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 3/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
It all started with an accidental email. That’s how Graham and Ellie met. However, Graham and Ellie are from two different worlds. Graham is a Hollywood movie star. Ellie is from a small town in Maine. But what will happen when their online relationship becomes a real life one?

Favorites
I thought that both of the main characters are really likable. Graham and Ellie are both charming in their own way. I liked their email exchanges as well. I wish there was more of that, or longer excerpts of the emails.

Not-So-Faves
Aside from the two main characters, I found that the other characters are very dull and lack personality/depth as well. The plot is definitely unrealistic as well, but I was hoping the actual play out of the scenes would be a little natural — overall felt a little forced. Also, I felt like a lot of the topics that weren’t the romance weren’t really solved by the end of the book. There were lots of loose ends that were mentioned/ talked about throughout the book but forgotten about by the ending of it.
Also, I really disliked the 3rd POV. Even in the alternating “he/she” chapters, the 3rd POV just made it so awkward. It was unnecessary. It would have been much easier to get to know the characters if it was a 1st POV, instead of an empty narrator talking about how the characters felt.

Rating
Plot: 3.5/5
Characters: 3/5
Writing Style: 2.5/5

Overall: 3/5

Final Thoughts
I was looking for a really cute and happy read. The title of this book had “happy” in it so that’s what I was expecting. However, there was just a lot of drama and unhappiness that took away from the main romance in the book. I liked it, but there were lots of things I wish was different so I couldn’t necessarily give it a higher rating. I’ve read other works by Smith before so I knew I wasn’t going to get a realistic fiction, but there were just too many parts that felt forced and uncomfortable to me. I felt like it had decent points, but I wish those were emphasized more. Overall, it was just okay. I liked it but not exactly enough that I would recommend it to you. Unless you are enthralled by this author or plot, I would recommend you only borrow it from someone or the library.

Thanks for reading my review! Sorry for so many average reviews lately, haven’t been clicking with the books I’ve been reading lately unfortunately.

Love, Jeanette

One thought on “Review: This Is What Happy Looks Like – Jennifer E. Smith

Leave a Reply

