Blog · Book Review

Review: The Girl On The Train – Paula Hawkins

SAM_7087

General
The Girl On The Train by Paul Hawkins
Pages: 323 Pages (Hardcover)
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Adult
Publisher: Riverhead Books (Penguin Random House), January 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 3/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
This book is a mystery thriller so you might want to go into it blind instead! If you would like a plot summary please visit the goodreads link!

Favorites
I thought that Rachel was an interesting character. I’m not a huge reader of this genre (mystery/thriller) so it was a refreshing change for me. I thought the plot was okay. The twist was okay as well, I kind of felt it coming, but didn’t predict the full of it.

Not-so-faves
The multiple narrations were really confusing. I understand that the majority of the narrators were kind of just clueless as what was going on, like myself. It was just difficult to focus because the characters were so unstable. Also, I didn’t really like most of the characters. Although Rachel was interesting, I didn’t love her. I felt like she needed a better redemption, or have some sort of character development.

Rating
Plot: 3/5
Characters: 2.5/5
Writing style: 3.5/5

Overall: 3/5

Final Thoughts
This is the first time, in a very long time, I picked up a mystery book. I’ve had this book on hold at the library and it finally was available so I decided to read it last weekend. I read a part of it at the beach (which was probably a bad idea because it definitely wasn’t a good beach read). Overall, the plot was kind of drawn out for me. I was just kind of “okay” with everything. Nothing about it was super thrilling or exciting. I didn’t find myself getting drawn into the plot or the characters — it just didn’t interest me as much as I wished.
Overall, I thought it was an okay read, but I’m glad I borrowed it from the library because I don’t plan on purchasing it. It is kind of an expensive buy as well. Therefore, I would only recommend you to get this book if you are really drawn by the plot. If you wanted to give it a try, I would suggest just borrowing a copy from your library!

Thanks for joining me today, I hope you enjoyed my review!

love, Jeanette

7 thoughts on “Review: The Girl On The Train – Paula Hawkins

  1. I really agreed with you on this book although I think I rated it one less… For something that is being compared to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn it was a real ‘so-so’ kind of read.

    Nice review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry your excursion out of your usual genre did not work out well. I’m waiting til the hype dies down a bit for this one before reading it myself. I did like Gone Girl so this one has me curious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

