Blog · diary

Diary: School Vs. Reading

Screen-Shot-2015-07-29-at-8.57.01-PM

So I’m here today with a quick post with something that has been bothering me lately…

Recently, I’ve been faced with this dilemma. Summer school started for me recently and I have found 0 time to read at all. During the school year, I find ways to mix in a little bit of reading occasionally. However, my summer class is really intensive because it is only a couple of weeks long – hence compressing a lot of material into a short amount of time is very hectic.

I’m the type of person who doesn’t know how to put a book down. I would rather stay up until 5AM to finish a book on a school night then have to wait until the next afternoon to continue it. I’ve found myself just not reading the past few days. When I do have a little extra time, I go on Youtube or Hulu to catch up on some shows or videos. I feel like I’m holding back from reading because I know I won’t be able to stop.

However, as a book lover, this is quite a discomforting habit because… I miss my books…

So, how do you do it?

Whether you are busy with school or work, how do you find balance in your reading and such?

That’s all I have time for today, have to get back to some studying. Hope you’re having a great one and thanks for joining me today!

love, Jeanette

20 thoughts on “Diary: School Vs. Reading

  1. I really relate to this, Jeanette! I am currently working full-time (granted, I don’t have any homework to do!), I usually allow thirty minutes of reading time before I sleep, or I read during commute. It’s not a long time, but I guess it adds up!

    Then again, I think in reading habits, we’re opposites – I find it very difficult to read a book all the way through in one sitting. I have to break it up into, at the very least, three sittings. Not sure why! I am thinking of going to postgraduate studies/grad school next year, and with how much I’ve been reading this year, I’m not sure how I’ll survive if I don’t read everyday.

    But I hope you will find small moments to read. ❤ Good luck with summer school!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck with your studies and work! Thank you so much for your tips. I used to read on the commute too — because I used to take the train. However, I started driving half a year ago and found that commute was just a big blob of time i couldn’t do anything with. I’ve been trying out some audiobooks so we’ll see how that goes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I work but I usually read on my commute or my day off. School life is a lot more stressful since you constantly have to study as well. I admit I was a student with terrible habits- I read most of the semester and crammed came exam times. Luckily my memory is very good so I didn’t struggle too much. But don’t stress yourself out too much, just pick the choicest books to read instead – life’s too busy for mediocrity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am having the exact same problem right now! And its making me very anxious and fidgety. I think NOT reading is bad for my health. For me its hard because I am in Year 12 and this is my last 3 months of school before my 2 big sets of exams (I have 10 exams in total). It’s a lot of work which is why, mix that in with blogging, working and outside of school commitments, things are getting insane and I find myself not reading. So I feel you girl.
    Here what I think we should do. First of all, maybe in the mornings, wake up 30 minutes earlier to dedicate that time to reading. After school, dedicate another 30 minutes. In between school work at home, give yourself maybe 15 minute breaks to sprint read a chapter or two before going back to doing school work. Maybe we can get through this together! Good luck.
    xoxo 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know how you feel! I feel so fidgety and anxious as well 😦 Reading seems to be a vitamin for me. I wish you good luck with your exams and school and such! I really like your idea of reading in between breaks a chapter or two. Good luck with your school work and I hope you find some time to squeeze in a chapter or two as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel your struggle. I myself find it so hard to put a great book down but if I stayed up till 5am I’d never wake up in the morning! I congratulate you on that accomplishment. Usually I read for about 30 minutes before I got to bed then catch up on my reading on mornings when I don’t have to be anywhere.
    I hope you find the right balance between your reading and school 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah I get the same way during the school year, sometimes I don’t read a book for months. I’m like you and end up pulling all nighters when I get really into a book, my advice would be not to read before you sleep then, you need your sleep to tackle school the next day. And I wouldn’t feel guilty about catching up on youtube or hulu as those things make you happy too and it’s easier to squeeze them into the day than reading. I feel like when I get into a really good book I’m consumed by it and can’t focus on anything else. So maybe as a solution try reading a few chapters when you need a break from school work and have at least 30min-1hr to spare. It would be even better to read as a way to reward yourself when you’re done with all your work and have downtime. Maybe reading during the week isn’t practical so you can use that time for your youtube/shows and save free time on the weekends for reading. I hope this helps! And sorry for the super lengthy response, I know you don’t have a lot of free time right now lol >_< good luck with summer school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

