Blog · Book Review

Review: Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson

SAM_6931

General
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
Pages: 468 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Simon and Schuster, May 2012

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
This summer is the summer of second chances for Taylor. After receiving some terrible news, Taylor’s family decides to come back to their summer home once again. It’s been almost 5 years since Taylor ran away from this place; she doesn’t know what to expect upon her return. However, she realizes that this is her chance to make things right.

Favorites
This story was really touching, although romance plays a role in this book, there is a very prominent family role in this book. It reminded me of Jenny Han books almost. It was definitely a really touching story and I even cried a little bit towards the end. The characters were decently likable as well. The plot was okay, but the writing elevated this simple plot.

Not-so-faves
The story’s narrator is Taylor. This is pretty good, except at times, Taylor seems to have never ending stream of thoughts that last almost pages. I feel like some of these stream of thoughts could be cut down a little to quicken the pace of the story. I found that the story was a tad bit slow and it definitely is a long book (468 pages).

Rating
Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing Style: 4.5/5

Overall: 4/5

Final Thoughts
This story was much more different than I expected. I came into it not really knowing what it was about, but I was expecting your classic summer romance novel. However, I was pleasantly surprised that this book didn’t obsess over the romance issues. Although I do feel a tad bit of similarities and resemblance with her Broken Hearts & Revenge series, I found this more enjoyable. There are many serious topics in this book including illnesses and family issues. I found that Matson was able to find a great balance in the story. Taylor was a pretty well balanced character as well. Although she has her own fears, she wasn’t obsessively running towards romance — like how most girls in YA books do. I found that this story was very touching and I did enjoy it. It didn’t blow my mind or anything but I definitely enjoyed it.

I would highly recommend this to you if you are looking for a summer read! However, this is not a light summer read, but a great read for this season nevertheless.

Thanks for reading my review and I hope you enjoyed it!

love, Jeanette

2 thoughts on “Review: Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

