Blog · Book Review

Review: Extraordinary Means – Robyn Schneider

SAM_6846

General
Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
Pages: 336 (Hardback)
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (Harper Collins), May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon 
Overall Rating: 3/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
Lane and Sadie are two teenagers who are diagnosed with a fully drug resistant TB. They are both at a place called Latham House, basically a boarding school for the sick. Lane has to struggle with finding a way to balance his life outside of Latham while Sadie searches for meaning aside from Latham.

Favorites
I definitely give props to Schneider for writing about TB. I’ve read about TB before in my English class and it is definitely a really serious illness. Young adult books are not commonly seen addressing issues like TB for example and it is definitely courageous to write a novel revolving around it.

Not-so-faves
I just couldn’t connect with the characters in this book. Although I felt like the plot was okay, I just couldn’t find any thing about the characters I was interested in. I found that the relationships between the characters were very on the surface as well. I was not emotionally moved by anything that happened to the characters. I finished the book, put it down and kind of just felt “meh” about it. As of the time of writing this review, it’s only been a few hours since I finished the book but I find myself already forgetting about it. It didn’t leave a huge impression on me.

Rating
Plot: 3.5/5
Characters: 2/5
Writing Style: 3.5/5

Overall Rating: 3/5

Final Thoughts
No doubt, this book has a very TFIOS feel to it. Although the books are not the same, they have the same aura and address similar issues. Personally, I loved TFIOS. Unfortunately, I didn’t feel very much for Extraordinary Means. There was just something missing for me, and I didn’t shed a single tear. I personally cry very easily, but I was barely touched by this book. I found that it was hard to really care for the book because the characters just weren’t very interesting for me. Lane was just your average nerdy boy and Sadie your average high school girl. The two just didn’t work for me, which was frustrating for me because I really wish I liked this book more.
I would only recommend this book to you if you are extremely intrigued about this story or the issues that are present in this book.

Hope you enjoyed this review and if you’ve read this book I would love to hear your thoughts!

Love, Jeanette

Leave a Reply

