Blog · Book Review

Review: An Ember In The Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

SAM_6717

General
An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Series: An Ember In The Ashes (Book 1)
Pages: 464 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Razorbill (Penguin Random House), April 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4.5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
I honestly don’t know how to summarize this plot myself, so please refer to the Goodreads summary if you want to know a summary of the book. I went into this book blind and I definitely do not regret it.

Favorites
The characters in this book were amazing… The characters I loved and didn’t love, they were overall well developed and great characters. It was amazing how much growth we could see in the characters in the span of just one book.
Also,  the plot is very intriguing. I really liked this book because there was no “introduction”, you were kind of just thrown into the world. I love that! I hate it when background information is spilled out to you through narratives in the first chapter.
I loved the double POV in this book. It was perfect! I always love a good he said she said narrative.

Also, the map on the end pages of the book was so great. I kept referring to it as I was reading!

Not-so-faves
I wish it was longer, I felt like some of it was so action packed I wish it lasted a bit longer so I could have more time to absorb the information. I know this book is already almost 500 pages but I need more…

Rating
Plot: 4.5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing Style: 4.5/5

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

Final Thoughts
I’m not a big fantasy reader, as you can probably tell, I’m an avid contemporary reader. I was in a reading slump recently, and some lovely people on Twitter suggested AEITA to me when I tweeted about fantasy recommendations. I loved this book so much more than I had expected to. I honestly can’t believe this is Tahir’s debut novel, because it is simply extraordinary. The writing was so fluid, the characters well developed, intriguing plot. What more could I ask for? This book was such a great read and I fell head over heels for this plot and the characters. I do have to say though, the beginning was a tad slow for me, it was interesting, but I wasn’t wowed — also the reason why it didn’t get a 5/5 from me. Around the middle of the book is when I really started to get drawn into the book and couldn’t put it down. Overall, I definitely recommend this book to all type of readers. Even if you’re not a huge fan of fantasy (like myself), I think you would definitely still be able to enjoy this book!

I really hope you enjoyed my review, if you haven’t picked up this book yet, you definitely should!

love, Jeanette

15 thoughts on “Review: An Ember In The Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

  1. Glad you enjoyed your foray into fantasy! I love multiple POVs, always make things a lot more interesting.

    Like

  2. Hi there! I enjoyed hearing what you had to say about this book! Ever since I’ve known about it, I’ve only been hearing great reviews and I’m so pumped to read it! I’m also in love with your rainbow bookshelf in the background and your blog header + layout! We just also want to mention: thanks for following us! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, I’m glad you liked it! I read a review from another blogger that didn’t like it at all so I was like “not for me” but seeing you liked it so much definitely makes me want to rethink that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

