Blog · Book Review

Review: The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion

SAM_6716

General
The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
Series: Don Tillman (Book 2)
Pages: 352 Pages
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
Publisher: Simon & Schuster (December 2014)

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 2.5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

If you haven’t read the first book, The Rosie Project, this review will contain major spoilers for you.

Plot Summary
This book picks up 10 months after the previous book ends, Rosie and Don now live in an apartment at NYC. While Don works at Columbia, Rosie is juggling a PhD while attending medical school. Now, they are expecting the unexpected. Don freaks out as he doesn’t know how to be a father and Rosie has to learn how to manage being a wife, a mother and a student.

Favorites
I found that characters like Gene were more likable in this book. Also, I found that I was able to get a better grasp on the scene/setting of this book.

Not-so-faves
I had so many problems with this book… I found that Don’s narrative has become very rigid and hard to understand. By hard to understand, I found myself not being able to understand a lot of things he was trying to do. I found that Don’s character development from the previous book took a step backwards. All the growth he made previously was taken back. Also, I found the dynamics and witty parts of Rosie and Don’s relationship to have lost its magic.

Rating
Plot: 3/5
Characters: 2/5
Writing Style: 2.5/5

Overall: 2.5/5

Final Thoughts
I found this sequel very disappointing. The majority of the book was clogged with their relationship issues and Don’s internal conflicts. It was very difficult to remain interested and actually took me over a week to finish. This is unusually long for me, because i finish most of the books I read in one sitting or within a few days. Overall, I would not recommend this book, however if you haven’t read the Rosie Project, I would definitely still recommend that book!

Thanks for joining me today! Hope you enjoyed my review!

love, Jeanette

4 thoughts on “Review: The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion

  1. I read The Rosie Project and instantly fell in love with the story. I was super excited to read the sequel, but have been putting it off because of the negative reviews. I think I’ll pass on reading The Rosie Effect now. Thank you for your review, it was helpful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

