Blog · Book Review

Review: The Heir – Kiera Cass

SAM_6552

General
The Heir by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection (Book 4)
Pages: 400 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen (Harper Collins), May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 3/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

If you haven’t read the first 3 books of the Selection series, this review will contain major spoilers for you!

Plot Summary
It’s been 18 years since Maxon and America met during their Selection. Now, it is time for their daughter to have her own selection. However, Princess Eadlyn is not interested in finding a man to be with her as she prepares herself to rule the country…

Favorites
I really liked Ahren! He was such a great character and made this book a bit more bearable than it was. I found that some select scenes were really likable and cute as well, almost felt the magic of The Selection series again.
The dress on this cover is probably my favorite so far… Not that that really matters…

Not-so-faves
From the short favorites paragraph, you can tell that this is going to be a long one… It’s a bit of a rant honestly.

First off, Eadlyn. Oh… Eadlyn. Why are you so shallow? I found her character so shallow and inconsistent. At times, I felt myself face palming for her. She is terribly childish and shows no forethought in her actions. Even by the end of the book, I felt very little character development. I understand that she is not America — whom I honestly did not find annoying or had any problem with. But Eadlyn… she is bratty, stuck up, seriously unlikable. There were parts where Eadlyn’s personality shined through and I found something I could actually stand, but it quickly disappeared and was flooded over by her attitude.

What happened to Maxon and America? These two people in this book only go by the same name as the characters of those 2 characters in the first 3 books, but show little resemblance. I know that this book isn’t about them, but if you’re going to include them, why do they not even seem like themselves anymore? Why is America such a pushover? Why is Maxon so uptight? Clearly, these two characters could have simply just had different names. They are definitely not who they were when we last left them. Once again, I understand that there needs to be character development, it has been 18 years. However, these characters are like strangers, definitely untrue to who they were. This was probably what annoyed me the most. If America Singer was still America Singer, she would have slapped Eadlyn across the face before page 1 ended.

Also, the boys in this selection are so… I don’t know how you would say this… Uncharming and kind of boring? I didn’t find myself really remembering much about them, and some of the incidences that took place with them seemed unnatural and just really weird…

Rating
Writing style: 4/5
Characters: 2/5
Plot: 3/5

Overall rating: 3/5

Final Thoughts
Honestly, if we just removed Eadlyn and replace her with a more reasonable character, put the real Maxon and America in, tweeze the boys in the selection a little, delete some of the bad scenes, this book could actually be decent. However, I was just so frustrated while reading this book, I couldn’t find myself to go any farther than say this book was just okay. Honestly, I sincerely agree, The Selection should have just remained a trilogy… Eadlyn’s story seems unnecessary and forced. I’m just putting in some hope that the next book will be better… I still plan to pick it up because I’m holding onto the hope that the next book will be better.

Thanks for reading my review! Sorry about the long rant, this book just gave me so much to talk about. If you’ve read this book as well, I’d love to hear your thoughts below!

love, Jeanette

4 thoughts on “Review: The Heir – Kiera Cass

  1. Great, honest review. I guess I was the only one that didn’t manage to finish this one. Ahren was also the most pleasant character in the book. And maybe that dude that was smiling all the time. The one that couldn’t speak english! He was just adorable.
    I also agree about America and Maxon not being the same and they didn’t feel like they were… parents. I felt like they were strangers to their kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on abookwithbea and commented:
    Nice review! I’m currently reading this book. Though there are many reviews that this book, by far, was a little off your expectations. Since I’m not yet done reading the book, I’ll stay put saying this now: I’m still looking forward on what’s going to happen.

    As soon as I finished the book, I’m gonna try to make a review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

