Blog · Book Review

Review: Just One Year – Gayle Forman

SAM_6684

General
Just One Year by Gayle Forman
Series: Just One Day (Book 2)
Pages: 352 Pages (Paperback)
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Speak (Penguin Random House), Sep 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4.5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
In Just One Day, we learn about Allyson and Willem’s romantic adventure. Now, in Just One Year, we learn about Willem’s persepctive and his journey to finding Lulu again.

Favorites
You guys probably know this already, I love Willem. He is such an amazing character. He’s the perfect combination of good looks, intelligence, ability to charm, confidence and a tad bit of jerk-ness (sorry I couldn’t think of a better word to describe this). What do you not love about this character?
I really love he said, she said versions of books. Although I was a little disappointed when I realized that this wasn’t a continuation of Just One Day, but Willem’s version of it, I felt like this story was gave us enough insight to learn more about the story. It wasn’t just 300 pages of repetitiveness of things we already know about from the first book.

Not-so-faves
I didn’t enjoy Willem’s story as much because I found some parts of his story very dragged out, and too long for my liking.

Rating
Plot: 4.5/5
Writing Style: 4/5
Characters: 4.5/5

Overall: 4.5/5

Final Thoughts
As you can probably tell, I thoroughly enjoyed this series. Willem’s side to the story was definitely delightful and it answered a lot of questions that I had after finishing Just One Day. I found that many people were disappointed because they didn’t get the closure they were expecting. However, I think that we need to realize that Forman wasn’t trying to end the story in this book. Even on the book, it talks about how we will be told Willem’s story before their journey concludes. The novella, Just One Night, acts as the final wrapping up of Willem & Allyson’s story. Of course, if this series really ended with this book and the ending it left at, I would left very unsatisfied and disappointed. This is not the case, and I kept that in mind with my rating/review. The novella is seriously the cherry on top & I’m sure that anyone who reads this series and didn’t feel very good about it because of the ending would find it much more satisfying if they read the novella that went with it. I will not be writing a full review for the novella, Just One Night, but I definitely give that 5/5 stars. This series is wonderful, I highly suggest you pick it up (all 3 parts) if you haven’t yet!

Thanks for reading my review and I hope you enjoyed it!

love, Jeanette

Leave a Reply

