Blog · Book Review

Review: Just One Day – Gayle Forman

SAM_6407

General
Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Series: Just One Day (#1)
Pages: 369 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Speak (Penguin Random House), August 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
On a post high school graduation trip, Allyson stumbles upon a mysterious boy in Europe. He invites her to visit Paris for one day. She knows nothing about him, yet she is compelled to go on this adventure. Who knew 24 hours could change her life so significantly?

Favorites
When I read a book, the most important factor I look for is how the book makes me feel. By how it makes me feel, I’m referring to how the book is affecting me, how involved I feel about the story and the characters, etc. This book, I felt mind blown about the emotions it gave me. Willem and Allyson’s adventure was so romantic and I felt every bit of that romance It’s amazing how Forman was able to set the story up with such a mood that I felt like I was there in Paris with Willem and Allyson. But, it wasn’t the romance only that I was able to feel. I felt the heartbreak, I cried, I laugh, I was happy, I smiled… So many emotions went through me as I read this book.
Can we just stop for a moment and swoon over Willem? I fell head over heels for him. Hands down, he is by far one of my favorite fictional male characters. There is just too much to like about him.

Not-so-faves
This book is split up into two parts basically. I found that the second part dragged on a little for me (was a little slower pace). This is probably because the first part of the book is so action packed.

Rating
Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Writing style: 4.5/5

Overall Rating: 5/5

Final Thoughts
This has definitely landed itself into one of my favorite books I’ve read in 2015. I also read the companion book this next day subsequently, I will talk more about the second book and my thoughts later on. Overall, I thought that this was a fantastic read. I am a sucker for romantic stories, you should know that by now. It was cheesy at some parts, but definitely not too cheesy. Forman finds a great dynamic between the characters, which made Allyson and Willem so amazing together. Nevertheless, I feel like what made me feel so great about this book was being able to read the companion novel as well as the novella that wraps up the story. It wouldn’t be quite complete without the other two items, but overall, I definitely loved this book. I am giving it a 5/5 because of the levels of emotion and feelings I had invested into this story as I read it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested or is looking for a very romantic young adult novel.

Thanks for reading my review today, I hope you enjoyed it!

love, Jeanette

5 thoughts on “Review: Just One Day – Gayle Forman

  1. I read If I stay by her too and i didn’t enjoy it as much but after reading your review I feel like giving her another chance. Do you think I should try this one when I don’t really like if I stay?

    Like

  2. This is exactly how I felt after reading the book!!! What’s different is like I actually prefer the second part over the first. Thank you for the review anyway; it’s really nice to know that someone thinks about it the same way as I do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

