Blog · Book Review

Review: Revenge, Ice Cream and Other Things Best Served Cold – Katie Finn

SAM_6566

General
Revenge, Ice Cream & Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn
Series: Broken Hearts & Revenge (Book 2)
Pages: 400 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan), May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 3.5/5

*I  bought this book with my own money*

If you haven’t read the first book of this series, this review will contain major spoilers for you!

Plot Summary
After Gemma’s realization that Hallie had been playing her all along, the story of their revenge continues. Gemma can’t believe that Hallie was already two steps ahead and stole her ex, Teddy, away from her. As their summer continues, the two find themselves in a never ending cycle of revenge.

Favorites
The characters remain steady in this book for me. Personally, I found Hallie and Gemma pretty frustrating. I really liked her last book, but not as much this time around. I would say though, some new characters that appeared in this book made it much more enjoyable. The story still remains to be very fluffy and light for summer — although a bit more dense than the first book.

Not-so-faves
I really didn’t enjoy how predictable it was. I honestly enjoyed the book, but I was able to guess every thing that happened hundreds of pages before it did. This was the same problem I had with book 1. If it was a little less predictable, this series would definitely be rated higher for me.
I know this book is literally named with “revenge” in its title, but there was way too much revenge in this. It was literally 400 pages of Gemma and Hallie fighting each other with one revenge plot to another. I wish that some light was shone onto other aspects of the stories and characters as well.

Rating
Plot: 3/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing Style: 3.5/5

Overall: 3.5/5

Final Thoughts
Boy, and I thought Broken Hearts, Fences & Other Things To Mend was a mouthful, somehow this book manages to have an even longer title….

Overall, this series remains steady as an average contemporary series for me. I really do like it, but I had some problems with the book/series overall. I found that although the writing was cute, however it was too predictable for my taste. Everything was too convenient and coincidental as well. The characters would be much more likable if more “depth” was written into the characters. The characters are just one word: REVENGE. I wish there was more character development in this book. However, I still plan to read the last book of the trilogy, because I surely need some closure with this whole Gemma and Hallie revenge series.

Hope you enjoyed my review! If you’ve read this book, I would love to hear your thoughts as well!

love, Jeanette

Leave a Reply

