Blog · Book Review

Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness

SAM_6189

General
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Pages: 479 (Paperback)
Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Sci-fi
Publisher: Candlewick Press, 2014 (Original September 2008)

Links: Goodreads // Amazon 
Overall Rating: 4/5

Plot Summary
In the town of Prentisstown, every one can hear each other thoughts. However, there are only men left in this town, and Todd being the last boy left. On the brink of manhood, Todd finds himself on the run with his dog and a mystery girl. He’s being pursued by his town’s men and he barely knows why.

Favorites
I really enjoyed this book because it was action packed and the plot line flowed very well. I honestly couldn’t predict what was going to happen next or any of the plot twist. Although this is a genre I don’t usually read, it was still comfortable for me. I found the main characters Todd and Violet really charming (and the dog as well). The characters are well developed along with the plot line which was really enjoyable for me. Also, the character’s engagement and interactions were really engrossing. I wasn’t particularly in love with any of the characters, but I was clearly enthralled enough to become awfully preoccupied by the story.

Not-so-faves
Although the book was very action packed and flowed very well, I found some of the scenes unnecessary. This book is a pretty big one, and I felt like cutting out some scenes might have been beneficial for a faster flow and pace. I felt myself skimming over some of the scenes because they felt a tiny bit repetitive with Todd always on the run.

Rating

Characters: 4/5
Plot: 4/5
Writing style: 4/5

Final Thoughts
This book was quite an interesting read. It is very unique plot wise and the characters are well developed and likable as well. I don’t feel like I was particularly mind blown or in love with the book, but I definitely did enjoy it. I found the character development and engagement to be very well written. Todd and Violet’s adventure is very gripping and compelling. It is always particularly important to me to have well established characters that you get to know well (especially for series). The ending of the book was also unexpected for me as well. Looking back on it, I should have seen it coming, but I didn’t. I definitely am ready to pick up the next book in this series as soon as I can.

love, Jeanette

4 thoughts on “Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

