Blog · Book Review

Review: Isla & The Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins

SAM_6397

General
Isla & The Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
Pages: 375 (Paperback)
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Publisher: Usborne, 2014 (UK edition) — Originally Dutton (Penguin Random House), 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon 
Overall Rating: 4.5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
This is the 3rd and final book of the Anna and The French Kiss Companion series. Isla has always had a crush on Josh. Coincidentally, they see each other in Manhattan over the summer and their story begins… This story has reoccurring appearances from characters in the previous two books.

Favorites
I really liked the plot of this story. I feel like, comparing it to Anna and Lola, this plot has a teensy bit more of a mature storyline. For the first third of the book, I was like “hey this is cute I like it” but the last 2/3, my mind was blown, I honestly didn’t see it coming. I was rolling around my bed while reading this and I couldn’t get enough. I think that the plot of this book was very refreshing. As usual, I really like Stephanie Perkin’s writing style. Her writing style is perfect for fluffy romance.

I liked Isla and Josh as well, more than I expected honestly. Also, I like how Perkins entangles themes of family and friendship into her stories. Of course, the romance is great, but it is always nice to have other real life themes included.

Not-so-faves
There wasn’t anything in particular I didn’t like about this book. I just felt like the middle was a bit slow paced.

Rating

Writing style: 4.5/5
Characters: 4/5
Plot: 4.5/5

Final Thoughts
If you have been following my blog, you know that Anna and The French Kiss was very dear to me. I loved it a whole lot. Even after reading Isla, I still say Anna’s story is my favorite. Don’t get me wrong, all 3 books are exceptionally great YA contemporary romances. I really did enjoy Isla because the plot was very unexpected for me, at least. The chemistry between the characters were decent and I liked Isla, but she wasn’t my favorite. I felt l like her character wasn’t as polished as the other two in the previous books. Nevertheless, I am so sad that this series is over now. I was putting off reading Isla because I didn’t want it to end. Overall, this is probably one of my favorite YA romance “series”. Even though this is the last book, I can only hope that Perkins decides to write more YA books soon…

I would highly recommend this book (and the rest of the series) to anyone looking for a summer YA romance read.

Thanks for reading my review! I hope you enjoyed it.

love, Jeanette.

2 thoughts on “Review: Isla & The Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

