Blog · Book Review

Review: Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

SAM_6392

General
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
Pages: 323 (Paperback)
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
Publisher: Atria (Simon & Schuster), August 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon 
Overall Rating: 5/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
Tate Collins moves to her brother house and unexpectedly meets one of his pilot friends, Miles Archer. Their attraction is unfathomable by the two and they explore their physical relationships without strings attached. They have two rules, don’t ask about the past & don’t expect a future.

Favorites
The characters in this book are SO lovable. You can’t help but fall in love with the characters, you feel as if you really know them. They are intriguing, mysterious (yes Miles), and extremely interesting. I feel like the way Hoover uses the double POV with the chapters switching between Tate and Miles are fantastic. This gives good insight into both characters, one’s present and one’s past. This also made me feel a great connection with the characters because I felt like I know them well. The interactions between the characters was also very well written. It didn’t feel fake or made up, it felt natural. Colleen Hoover’s writing style is perfect for this genre!

Not-so-faves
I can’t pull anything off the top of my head about anything about this book I didn’t like… maybe the fact that I was crying like an idiot for a good half an hour (just an fyi).

Rating

Characters: 5/5
Plot: 4.5/5
Writing Style: 5/5

Overall Rating: 5/5

Final Thoughts
This is the first book I’ve read that was written by Colleen Hoover. I started reading it in the morning at the gym while I was on the elliptical and the treadmill. Thank goodness I decided to go home and lay in bed and finish the rest of it. The ups and the downs of the book… Miles… Tate… everything. It was so fantastic. I fell head over heels for the characters, I loved it that much. I finished it within a day of starting it (which is kind of normal for my summer reading, but I sped through this one especially). I am very glad I decided to pick this book up upon recommendations of some on my Instagram. It is definitely worth the hype. But beware, especially with younger audiences, there is some adult content in this book (as it is part of the New Adult genre). Personally, I’m old enough that it doesn’t bother me.

Overall, I loved this book, this is definitely one of my favorite reads of 2015 so far. Colleen Hoover’s writing is definitely charming and I look forward to reading more books by her. If you’ve read this book as well, I’d love to hear your thoughts! Thanks for joining me today.

love, Jeanette

2 thoughts on “Review: Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

