Blog · Book Review

Review: Love Fortunes & Other Disasters – Kimberly Karalius

SAM_6319

General
Love Fortunes & Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius
Pages: 368
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Swoon Reads, May 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary

In the town of Grimbaud, love is in the air and every one believes in love fortunes. It was a tradition that all must receive their love fortunes. Zita, the owner of the love charm shop, is known for her 100% accuracy with her love charms. However, Fallon receives a fortune that announces that her love will never be recruited… What will she do now?

Favorites

Can we just take a moment and admire the cover first of all? The little couples prancing around town… The cover is amazing, it’s adorable, just like the book itself.
Anyways, besides from the amazing cover, I just have to mention how cute of a read this was. Inside out, the book is just ADORABLE. I don’t know how else to describe it. Love is in the air, and I definitely felt it. This book would have been perfect as a Valentine’s day release.
I also really liked the unique plot of the story. In the beginning, I thought it was just a regular ol’ young adult contemporary romance, but it wasn’t! There is a slight fantasy/magical twist to it. I think it’s so lovable and was such a charm to read. (Pun intended).
Another strong suit was the character development. It was amazing to see how the characters develop from the beginning of the novel to the end (the characters are so lovable as well).

Not-so-faves

I did really enjoy this book for the most part, the only thing I felt that was a little lacking to me was the description of the “charms” and magic aspect of the book. I honestly was very confused what they charms were, who could use them/create them, where they came from, how they play into the whole world — beyond the small town. I wish that this aspect of the book was described/introduced a little more in detail to help solidify the basics and see how that intervenes with the plot development. Also, I felt like the pace of the first third of the book was a little slow.

Rating

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4.5/5
Writing Style: 3.5/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

Final Thoughts
Overall, this was such a delightful read. For the majority of the time while reading this book, I was squealing at how cute the book was. I love the dialogue and interplay of the characters, it’s too much cuteness to handle. I became so involved with the characters, I felt myself on the edge of my seat during the last 50 pages of the book. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a light not-so-traditional contemporary young adult romance.

Thank you so much for reading my review! If you’ve read this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts as well!

love, Jeanette.

7 thoughts on “Review: Love Fortunes & Other Disasters – Kimberly Karalius

Leave a Reply

