Blog · Book Review

Review: Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley

SAM_6257

General
Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley
Series: Magonia(?) (Book 1)
Pages: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: HarperCollins, April 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I bought this book with my own money*

Plot Summary

Ava is a girl who has to live with a terrible disability. At a very young age, her lungs stopped working. Normal tasks like breathing or talking remain difficult for Ava. The problem is, no one understands what kind of disease she has. Her family find every way they can to help her, but Ava struggles. One day, Ava hears a mysterious call for her, a call that will explain everything.

Favorites

The plot of this book was really original. The “world” the story is set in so normal, yet there’s a huge twist. I’m going to be honest here, it was a bit weird in the beginning. Okay, it was really weird. But, as the plot advanced, I found myself really interested in the idea of it all. (Got to give it the Headley for the originality). Also, I really liked the main girl character. She was terribly sweet and smart, which I absolutely enjoyed. (It urks me when the lead female makes dumb choices)
Another point I’d like to mention is the writing style of this book. It’s very poetic with long strings of descriptions and thoughts. This however, may get a little confusing at times. For some, this might make the reading experience a little tricky. However, I definitely did enjoy this, it is very different from what I’m used to. It’s refreshing, in a way. But, this definitely did slow down my reading speed. I’m usually a really fast reader, but it was slower for this book.

Not-so-faves
I had NO idea this was a series. I was around 50 pages from the ending and I thought to myself, “How will this book properly wrap up?” Finally, I realized that (after completing the book and doing some research) it is not a stand alone. I’m honestly not sure if this should be a series, however. The plot could have been a great (longer) stand alone, but as a series, I’m not sure what more there is to this story.

Rating

Plot: 4/5
Characters: 4/5
Writing Style: 4/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

Final Thoughts
Honestly, the first 100 pages of the book was a little slow, but I found myself very interested in the world the story was placed in. I really like the different POVs between Jason and Ava. I do think that this book is not for everyone, however. Some might find the fantasy elements a little too much. Nevertheless, I found it very fascinating and thoroughly enjoyed it. The only point that is holding me back is the fact that it is a series — I’m not sure if it would be a great series (as opposed to possibly being a fantastic stand alone.)

If you’ve read this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts below!

love, Jeanette.

8 thoughts on “Review: Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley

  1. I really want this book, but don’t have the money. I have been tempted to sit at Barnes and Noble and read it before or after work. I work like right next to Barnes and Noble. Tempted all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to admit, the reason why I first wanted to read this book, was because of this gorgeous cover (and your picture totally does its justice, I love it, as always!). This seems like a very original story, and, now knowing that it has quite an unique writing style, I’m even more excited to pick this up! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I really like this book, but the ending was weird. Am I the only one who felt like the ending was kinda…. weird? Like i felt like some of the authors opinions were kinda just being forced down my throat…

    Like

Leave a Reply

