Blog · Book Review

Review: Broken Hearts, Fences & Other Things To Mend – Katie Finn

SAM_6222

General
Broken Hearts, Fences & Other Things To Mend by Katie Finn
Series: Broken Hearts & Revenge (Book 1)
Pages: 339
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan), May 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 3.5/5

*I purchased this book with my own money*

Plot Summary

This is a summer read focusing on the main character, Gemma. After being dumped by her boyfriend of two years, Gemma packs her bags and moves to the Hamptons for the summer. At the Hamptons, she faces a part of her past she only wishes to forget. She takes this as a second chance, to get things right and to be forgiven for the things she did long ago.

Favorites
I thought this was a perfect contemporary summer read. It was fluffy, the storyline was light, it was perfect. Overall, the plot was nothing spectacular, but what more do you expect? It serves the purpose it is meant for: a light summer read. I really liked the main girl lead, Gemma, at the beginning of the book. I felt terrible for her when she got dumped. Another point I’d like to mention is that the main romance relationship in the book is really cute! Despite the plot, the two had a lot of cute scenes where I found myself going “awww”.

Not-so-faves
Although I liked Gemma in the beginning, I found that she became unreliable. The main “plot twist” of the book, I smelled that 100 miles away. I guess, it might have been that Finn wanted us to see it on purpose, to see how naive the main character/narrator was. However, it was a little weird that the main plot was so obvious (at least to me). Also, the writing and phrasing was okay, I liked it, but I wish it was a tad more concise. It was a little stringy and wordy at times.

Rating:

Plot: 3/5
Writing Style: 3/5
Characters: 4/5

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

Final Thoughts

Overall, I definitely did enjoy this book. It put a smile on my face when I finished it. It didn’t blow my mind or anything, but I did enjoy it. I was in the mood for a light contemporary when I started to read it and it fulfilled my craving well. This is a series, and I’m not sure how long this plot can stretch out, but I definitely look forward to continue reading the series (I am waiting for the sequel to come in the mail any day now).

Thanks for reading my review! If you’ve also read this book I’d love to hear your thoughts!

love, Jeanette

4 thoughts on “Review: Broken Hearts, Fences & Other Things To Mend – Katie Finn

  1. I actually just ordered this from bookoutlet and hopefully it should arrive by Monday. I really hate it when plot twists are obvious. But I tend to be pretty dense when it comes to those, so maybe I’ll be surprised? And wow, I had no idea this was a trilogy!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No, don’t worry, you didn’t! Thanks, I hope so too!
        Oh and I recently discovered Katie Finn and Morgan Matson is the same person, which is really cool (I ordered Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour as well)!

        Like

Leave a Reply

