Blog · Book Review

Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews

SAM_6104

General
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
Pages: 295
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Humor
Publisher: Amulet Books, March 2012

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 2/5

*I purchased this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
Me Earl & The Dying Girl is told from the perspective of Greg. He is finally in his senior year of high school. He refuses to be part of social groups. He believes the key to high school is remain neutral, never be part of different cliques. However, his mom forces him to be friends with Rachel, the dying girl.

Favorites
It was really unique, very quirky. This book managed to be very different from any other YA literature I’ve read. The style it was written in is definitely like nothing I’ve seen before. I liked it cause it was different.

Not-so-faves
I felt like although the unique writing style makes it very different, it caused a lack of character development. It was hard for the characters to have any form of development because of really the lack of focus on descriptions of such.
Although the premise of the book was interesting, I felt terribly disengaged by 1/2 way through the book.
Honestly, I felt no connection with the characters. I didn’t care too much for them, it was difficult to be interested in their story because of that. Especially since I didn’t particularly like the main character… it was annoying because he was the narrator throughout the story, yet I didn’t like him. He was so nonchalant, it made me feel that way about him as well.

Rating

Plot: 2/5
Writing Style: 3/5
Characters: 2/5

Overall Rating: 2/5

Final Thoughts
I really wanted to like this book, I really did. I heard so many mixed reviews about this book, either you hated it, or you loved it. I tried so hard to not make me have an opinion of the book before I started reading it. Nevertheless, I didn’t really enjoy it. It is not something I would highly recommend to anyone or re-read again. It took a lot of effort to try to finish it….. I wanted to finish this book before the movie comes out so I can watch it. Honestly, even though I didn’t enjoy the book, I feel like it’d be great as a movie. The quirkiness and humor in this book is simply made for a motion picture I guess.

Thanks for joining me today! If you’ve read this book, I’d love to hear your opinions on it as well!

love, Jeanette.

2 thoughts on “Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews

Leave a Reply

